Adult books set in United Kingdom (12)


Find more books set in United Kingdom by genre:
1.

Poor Things by Alasdair Gray EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
What strange secret made rich, beautiful, tempestuous Bella Baxter irresistible to the poor Scottish medical student Archie McCandless? Was it her mysterious origin in the home of his monstrous friend Godwin Baxter, the genius whose voice could perforate eardrums? This story of true love and scientific daring whirls the reader from the private operating-theatres of late-Victorian Glasgow through aristocratic casinos, low-life Alexandria and a Parisian bordello, reaching an interrupted climax in a Scottish church.

2.

The Body-Snatcher (Fantasy and Horror Classics) by Robert Louis Stevenson EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Author of the timeless Treasure Island (1883), Robert Louis Stevenson is a hugely popular author, and one of the most translated in the world. First published in Pall Mall magazine in December of 1884, 'The Body-Snatcher' is based on characters in the employ of Robert Knox, around the time of the famous Burke and Hare murders. Many of the Gothic romance and horror stories, particularly those dating back to the 1900s and before, are now extremely scarce and increasingly expensive. We are republishing these classic works in affordable, high quality, modern editions, using the original text and a... continue

3.

Sunset by Jessie Cave EN

0 Ratings
Description:
The story of two sisters - inseparable until a disastrous holiday leaves one sister heartbroken and alone. A comedy about love, grief and reconciliation.

4.

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
The novel that established Virginia Woolf as a leading writer of the twentieth century, To the Lighthouse is made up of three powerfully charged visions into the life of one family living in a summer house off the rocky coast of Scotland. As time winds its way through their lives, the Ramseys face, alone and simultaneously, the greatest of human challenges and its greatest triumph-the human capacity for change. A moving portrait in miniature of family life, it also has profoundly universal implications, giving language to the silent space that separates people and the space that they transgres... continue

5.

Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her get a life—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang. Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s determined to spice up her life and finally fit in with her glamorous family. Her “Get a Life” list has six directives, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her family... continue

6.

Watership Down by Richard Adams EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
An allegorical tale of survival in which a band of wild rabbits leave their ancestral home to build a more humane society

7.

Penance by Eliza Clark EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
On a beach in a run-down seaside town on the Yorkshire coastline, sixteen-year-old Joan Wilson is set on fire by three other schoolgirls. Nearly a decade after the horrifying murder, journalist Alec Z. Carelli has written the definitive account of the crime, drawn from hours of interviews with witnesses and family members, painstaking historical research, and most notably, correspondence with the killers themselves. The result is a riveting snapshot of lives rocked by tragedy, and a town left in turmoil. But how much of the story is true? Compulsively readable, provocative, and distur... continue

8.

Get a Life, Chloe Brown : A Novel by Talia Hibbert EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her get a life—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang. Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s determined to spice up her life and finally fit in with her glamorous family. Her “Get a Life” list has six directives, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her family... continue

9.

Maame by Jessica George EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
An unforgettable debut about a young British Ghanaian woman as she navigates her twenties and finds her place in the world, for readers of Queenie and The Other Black Girl.

10.

Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
A classic tale of the young Englishman who gives up his life during the French Revolution to save the husband of the woman he loves.


12.

Emma by Jane Austen RO

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
„Jane Austen avea cel mai minunat dar din câte am întâlnit în a descrie implicaţiile, sentimentele şi caracterele din viaţa obişnuită. Rafinamentul cu care transformă personajele şi situaţiile din banale în interesante, tuşa de veridic pe care o imprimă descrierilor şi sentimentelor sunt lucruri la care eu nu pot decât să aspir.” – SIR WALTER SCOTT „Domnişoara Austen a înţeles perfect dimensiunea măruntă a vieţii... A fost o mare creatoare, egală – în mica ei sferă – cu Shakespeare…” – ALFRE... continue