Canada flag Books from Canada

Recommended books (44)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around North America Challenge" were written by authors from Canada. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

21.

I'm Thinking of Ending Things : A Novel by Iain Reid EN

Rating: 3     742 Votes
Description:
Includes Reader's Guide with discussion questions.
Recommended: 13 Sep 2022

22.
Moccasin Square Gardens

Moccasin Square Gardens : Short Stories by Richard Van Camp EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
The characters of Moccasin Square Gardens inhabit Denendeh, the land of the people north of the sixtieth parallel. These stories are filled with in-laws, outlaws and common-laws. Get ready for illegal wrestling moves ("The Camel Clutch"), pinky promises, a doctored casino, extraterrestrials or "Sky People," love, lust and prayers for peace. While this is Van Camp's most hilarious short story collection, it's also haunted by the lurking presence of the Wheetago, human-devouring monsters of legend that have returned due to global warming and the greed of humanity. The stories in Moccasin Square ... continue
Recommended: 27 Dec 2022

23.

Motherhood : A Novel by Sheila Heti EN

Rating: 2.8     5 Votes
Description:
A provocative novel about the desire and duty to procreate, from the author of the critically acclaimed How Should A Person Be? Motherhood treats one of the most consequential decisions of early adulthood - whether or not to have children - with the intelligence, wit and originality that have won Sheila Heti international acclaim. Having reached an age when most of her peers are asking themselves when they will become mothers, Heti's narrator considers, with the same urgency, whether she will do so at all. Over the course of several years, under the influence of her partner, body, family, frie... continue
Recommended: 13 Nov 2022

24.
Noopiming

Noopiming : The Cure for White Ladies by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
"Noopiming is Anishinaabemowin for "in the bush," and the title is a response to English Canadian settler and author Susanna Moodie's 1852 memoir Roughing It in the Bush. Set in the same place as Moodie's colonial memoir, this genre-fluid novel is offered as a cure for Moodie's racist treatment of Mississauga Nishnaabeg in her writing. The giant Sabe meditates on the gifts and challenges of their recent sobriety. Migrating geese make a case for coordinated formation as a way to get out of "one's own cycling head." Racoons turn Bougie Kwe's Zen-garden pond into their personal urban spa. This is... continue
Recommended: 27 Dec 2022

25.
Probably Ruby

Probably Ruby : A Novel by Lisa Bird-Wilson EN

Rating: 3.7     3 Votes
Description:
An Indigenous woman adopted by white parents goes in search of her identity in this unforgettable debut novel about family, race, and history. “Engaging . . . Ruby never disappoints with her big heart and outrageous sense of humor—and her resilient search for her own history.”—The New York Times Book Review “A passionate exploration of identity and belonging and a celebration of our universal desire to love and be loved.”—Imbolo Mbue, author of Behold the Dreamers This is the story of a woman in search of herself, in every sense. When we first meet Ruby, a Métis woman in her thirties, her life... continue
Recommended: 31 Mar 2023

26.

Runaway by Alice Munro EN

Rating: 4     49 Votes
Description:
**Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature** The matchless Munro makes art out of everyday lives in this exquisite short story collection. Here are men and women of wildly different times and circumstances, their lives made vividly palpable by the nuance and empathy of Munro's writing. Runaway is about the power and betrayals of love, about lost children, lost chances. There is pain and desolation beneath the surface, like a needle in the heart, which makes these stories more powerful and compelling than anything she has written before. Winner of the Man Booker International Prize 2009.
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

27.

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel EN

Rating: 3.5     882 Votes
Description:
A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power. A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand. Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolve... continue
Recommended: 03 Oct 2022

28.
Station Eleven

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel EN

Rating: 4     348 Votes
Description:
DAY ONE The Georgia Flu explodes over the surface of the earth like a neutron bomb. News reports put the mortality rate at over 99%. WEEK TWO Civilization has crumbled. YEAR TWENTY A band of actors and musicians called the Travelling Symphony move through their territories performing concerts and Shakespeare to the settlements that have grown up there. Twenty years after the pandemic, life feels relatively safe. But now a new danger looms, and he threatens the hopeful world every survivor has tried to rebuild. STATION ELEVEN Moving backwards and forwards in time, from the glittering years just... continue
Recommended: 27 May 2023

29.
The Accident of Being Lost

The Accident of Being Lost by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson EN

Rating: 4.6     4 Votes
Description:
This Accident of Being Lost is the knife-sharp new collection of stories and songs from award-winning Nishnaabeg storyteller and writer Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. These visionary pieces build upon Simpson's powerful use of the fragment as a tool for intervention in her critically acclaimed collection Islands of Decolonial Love. Provocateur and poet, she continually rebirths a decolonized reality, one that circles in and out of time and resists dominant narratives or comfortable categorization. A crow watches over a deer addicted to road salt; Lake Ontario floods Toronto to remake the world w... continue
Recommended: 27 Dec 2022

30.

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood EN

Rating: 4     219 Votes
Description:
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Handmaid's Tale WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE In The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood weaves together strands of gothic suspense, romance, and science fiction into one utterly spellbinding narrative. The novel begins with the mysterious death—a possible suicide—of a young woman named Laura Chase in 1945. Decades later, Laura’s sister Iris recounts her memories of their childhood, and of the dramatic deaths that have punctuated their wealthy, eccentric family’s history. Intertwined with Iris’s account are chapters from the scandalous novel that m... continue


Mastodon logo