Canada flag Books from Canada

107 popular canadian books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around North America Challenge" were written by authors from Canada. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.


22.

El planeta de Mr. Sammler by Saul Bellow ES

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
Ganadora del National Book Award, El planeta de Mr. Sammler (1970) es una meditación, tan audaz como serena, sobre el futuro de la civilización occidental. Siguiendo a Artur Sammler, un intelectual educado en la filosofía y la literatura occidentales y superviviente del Holocausto, Bellow pasea por las peligrosas calles del West Side neoyorquino, prestando la misma atención a los carteristas de autobús que a las teorías sobre la consecución de la utopía ―o la inminente llegada del Apocalipsis― recién generadas por la llegada del ho... continue

23.

Embers : One Ojibway's Meditations by Richard Wagamese EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
"Life sometimes is hard. There are challenges. There are difficulties. There is pain. As a younger man I sought to avoid them and only ever caused myself more of the same. These days I choose to face life head on--and I have become a comet. I arc across the sky of my life and the harder times are the friction that lets the worn and tired bits drop away. It's a good way to travel; eventually I will wear away all resistance until all there is left of me is light. I can live towards that end." --Richard Wagamese, Embers In this carefully curated selection of everyday reflections, Richard Wagamese... continue

24.

Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries by Heather M. Fawcett EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
"In the early 1900s, a curmudgeonly professor journeys to a small town to study faerie folklore, where she discovers dark fae magic, friendship, and love. Cambridge professor Emily Wilde is good at many things: She is the foremost expert on dryadology, the study of faeries. She is a genius scholar and a meticulous researcher who is writing the world's first encyclopedia of faerie lore. But Emily Wilde is not good at people. She could never make small talk at a party--much less get invited to one. And she prefers the company of her books, her dog Shadow, and the Fair Folk to that of friends or ... continue

25.

Emily Wilde's Map of the Otherlands by Heather Fawcett EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
When mysterious faeries from other realms appear at her university, curmudgeonly professor Emily Wilde must uncover their secrets before it’s too late, in this heartwarming, enchanting second installment of the Emily Wilde series. Emily Wilde is a genius scholar of faerie folklore who just wrote the world’s first comprehensive encyclopaedia of faeries. She’s learned many of the secrets of the Hidden Ones on her adventures . . . and also from her fellow scholar and former rival Wendell Bambleby. Because Bambleby is more than infuriatingly charming. He’s an exiled faerie king on the run from his... continue

26.

Empire of Wild by Cherie Dimaline EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
"From the author of the YA-crossover hit The Marrow Thieves, a propulsive, stunning and sensuous novel inspired by the traditional Métis story of the Rogarou--a werewolf-like creature that haunts the roads and woods of Métis communities. A messed-up, grown-up, Little Red Riding Hood. Broken-hearted Joan has been searching for her husband, Victor, for almost a year--ever since he went missing on the night they had their first serious argument. One terrible, hungover morning in a Walmart parking lot in a little town near Georgian Bay, she is drawn to a revival tent where the local Métis have bee... continue

27.

Et pourquoi pas ailleurs by Micheline Duff FR

0 Ratings
Description:
"Mélanie Deslauriers pensait faire un simple voyage en Afrique, à explorer la savane et à rencontrer des gens. Elle découvre plutôt sa vocation dans l’aide humanitaire : et pourquoi pas ailleurs? Allègrement, elle décide alors de repartir, cette fois vers le Burkina Faso, où elle séjournera deux ans et consacrera toutes ses énergies à porter secours aux démunis et à semer l’espoir auprès de ce peuple candide et proche de la nature."--Résumé de l'éditeur.

28.

Even Though I Knew the End by C. L. Polk EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
Winner of the Nebula Award! Finalist for the Hugo Award! Finalist for the World Fantasy Award! A New York Times Best Romance of 2022! C. L. Polk turns their considerable powers to a fantastical noir with Even Though I Knew the End. “Eerie, sharp and fiercely bittersweet.” —The New York Times A magical detective dives into the affairs of Chicago's divine monsters to secure a future with the love of her life. This sapphic period piece will dazzle anyone looking for mystery, intrigue, romance, magic, or all of the above. An exiled augur who sold her soul to save her brother's life is offered one ... continue

29.

Every Summer After by Carley Fortune EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
"A radiant debut."—Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Book Lovers THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! Named One of the Hottest Reads of Summer 2022 by Today ∙ Parade ∙ PopSugar ∙ USA Today ∙ SheReads ∙ BuzzFeed ∙ BookBub ∙ Bustle ∙ and more! Six summers to fall in love. One moment to fall apart. A weekend to get it right. They say you can never go home again, and for Persephone Fraser, ever since she made the biggest mistake of her life a decade ago, that has felt too true. Instead of glittering summers on the lakeshore of her childhood, she spends them in a stylish apartment in t... continue

30.

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
Fans of Exciting Times and Convenience Store Woman will devour this funny and original literary debut about the unintentional consequences of anxiety and the relentless pressures of modern life, starring the most unforgettable literary creation since Eleanor Oliphant and Fleabag.


FIND BOOKS FROM CANADA BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Biography Comic Contemporary fiction Crime Cultural Drama Dystopia Essay Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Horror Humor Magical realism Memoir Mystery Philosophical Poetry Political Psychology Romance Science fiction Short story Spirituality Thriller Travel Young Adult