France flag Books from France

Recommended books (24)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the Read Around Europe Challenge were written by authors from France. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

Domino Journaliste by Suzanne Pairault FR

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / France flag France
Genre Humor
Recommended: 17 Jan 2021

2.

Existentialism is a Humanism by Jean-Paul Sartre FR

Rating: 4     8 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
This book presents a new English translation of two seminal works by Jean-Paul Sartre, the most dominant European intellectual of the post-World War II decades. The volume includes Sartre's 1945 lecture “Existentialism Is a Humanism” and his analysis of Camus's The Stranger, along with a discussion of these works by acclaimed Sartre biographer Annie Cohen-Solal. This edition is a translation of the 1996 French edition, which includes Arlette Elkaïm-Sartre's introduction and a Q&A with Sartre about his lecture. In her foreword, intended for an American audience, acclaimed Sartre biographer Anni... continue
Recommended: 11 Sep 2022

3.

Germinal by Emile Zola EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
The thirteenth novel in Émile Zola’s great Rougon-Macquart sequence, Germinal expresses outrage at the exploitation of the many by the few, but also shows humanity’s capacity for compassion and hope. Etienne Lantier, an unemployed railway worker, is a clever but uneducated young man with a dangerous temper. Forced to take a back-breaking job at Le Voreux mine when he cannot get other work, he discovers that his fellow miners are ill, hungry, and in debt, unable to feed and clothe their families. When conditions in the mining community deteriorate even further, Lantier finds himself leading a s... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

4.

In the Company of Men by Veronique Tadjo EN

Rating: 3.5     2 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Drawing on real accounts of the Ebola outbreak that devastated West Africa, this poignant, timely fable reflects on both the strength and the fragility of life and humanity’s place in the world. Two boys venture from their village to hunt in a nearby forest, where they shoot down bats with glee, and cook their prey over an open fire. Within a month, they are dead, bodies ravaged by an insidious disease that neither the local healer’s potions nor the medical team’s treatments could cure. Compounding the family’s grief, experts warn against touching the sick. But this caution comes too late: the... continue
Recommended: 14 Sep 2022

5.

Journey To The Center Of The Earth by Jules Verne EN

Rating: 5     3 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Follows Professor Hardwigg, his nephew Harry, and their guide Hans as they venture deep into a volcanic crater in Iceland on a journey that leads them to the center of the Earth and to incredible and horrifying discoveries. Reissue.
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

6.

La petite bijou by Patrick Modiano FR

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
" " Quand j'avais sept ans, on m'appelait la Petite Bijou. " Il a souri. Il trouvait certainement cela charmant et tendre pour une petite fille. Lui aussi, j'en étais sûre, sa maman lui avait donné un surnom qu'elle lui murmurait à l'oreille, le soir, avant de l'embrasser. Patoche. Pinky. Poulou. " Ce n'est pas ce que vous croyez, lui ai-je dit. Moi, c'était mon nom d'artiste. " "
Genre
Recommended: 04 Sep 2022

7.

Le consentement by Vanessa Springora FR

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
À treize ans, dans un dîner, V. rencontre G., un écrivain. Omniprésent, passionné, G. parvient à la rassurer : il l'aime et ne lui fera aucun mal. Alors qu'elle vient d'avoir quatorze ans, V. s'offre à lui corps et âme. La désillusion est terrible quand V. comprend que G. collectionne depuis toujours les amours avec des adolescentes, et pratique le tourisme sexuel dans des pays où les mineurs sont vulnérables.
Genre
Recommended: 10 Jun 2022

8.

Lie With Me : A Novel by Philippe Besson EN

Rating: 3.5     4 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
The award-winning, bestselling French novel by Philippe Besson—“the French Brokeback Mountain” (Elle)—about an affair between two teenage boys in 1984 France, translated with subtle beauty and haunting lyricism by the iconic and internationally acclaimed actress/writer Molly Ringwald. We drive at high speed along back roads, through woods, vineyards, and oat fields. The bike smells like gasoline and makes a lot of noise, and sometimes I’m frightened when the wheels slip on the gravel on the dirt road, but the only thing that matters is that I’m holding on to him, that I’m holding on to him out... continue
Genre
Recommended: 10 Jun 2022

9.

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Emma dreams of sophistication, wealth, and romance, but what she gets is a marriage to Charles Bovary, a provincial, middle-class doctor who is a devoted but boring husband. She tries her hardest to be a loyal and loving wife, even as she grows to resent him more and more for his insufferable dullness. Soon, though, she is seduced by the dashing Rodolphe and gives into her desires. In their affair, Emma believes she has finally found true, passionate love. She borrows money to lavish Rodolphe with expensive gifts, and the neighbors begin to gossip about her indiscretion. When the moneylender c... continue
Recommended: 21 May 2022

10.

Memoirs of Hadrian by Marguerite Yourcenar EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Both an exploration of character and a reflection on the meaning of history, Memoirs of Hadrian has received international acclaim since its first publication in France in 1951. In it, Marguerite Yourcenar reimagines the Emperor Hadrian's arduous boyhood, his triumphs and reversals, and finally, as emperor, his gradual reordering of a war-torn world, writing with the imaginative insight of a great writer of the twentieth century while crafting a prose style as elegant and precise as those of the Latin stylists of Hadrian's own era.
Genre
Recommended: 04 Jan 2018

11.

On the Line : Notes from a Factory by Joseph Ponthus EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Joseph enlists with a temp agency and starts to pick up casual shifts in the fish processing plants and abattoirs of Brittany. A novel in verse that captures the mundane, the beautiful and the strange, in poignant contrast with the blood and sweat of the factory floor.
Genre
Recommended: 10 Jun 2022

12.

Sarah's Key by Tatiana de Rosnay EN

Rating: 3.5     3226 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Paris, July 1942: Sarah, a ten year-old girl, is brutally arrested with her family by the French police in the Vel' d'Hiv' roundup, but not before she locks her younger brother in a cupboard in the family's apartment, thinking that she will be back within a few hours. Paris, May 2002: On Vel' d'Hiv's 60th anniversary, journalist Julia Jarmond is asked to write an article about this black day in France's past. Through her contemporary investigation, she stumbles onto a trail of long-hidden family secrets that connect her to Sarah. Julia finds herself compelled to retrace the girl's ordeal, from... continue
Recommended: 20 Jul 2022

13.

Shame (La honte) by Annie Ernaux FR

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
J'ai toujours eu envie d'écrire des livres dont il me soit ensuite impossible de parler, qui rendent le regard d'autrui insoutenable. Mais quelle honte pourrait m'apporter l'écriture d'un livre qui soit à la hauteur de ce que j'ai éprouvé dans ma douzième année.
Recommended: 19 May 2022

14.
Sido/Het huis van mijn moeder / druk 1

Sido/Het huis van mijn moeder / druk 1 by Colette FR

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Bundeling van twee autobiografische verhalen van de Franse schrijfster over haar jeugd op het Franse platteland eind 19e eeuw en haar moeder.
Genre
Recommended: 28 Sep 2022

15.

The Chatelet Apprentice by Jean-Francois Parot EN

Rating: 3     5 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Paris, February 1761. A police officer disappears and Nicolas Le Floch, a young Breton police recruit is instructed to find him ...
Genre
Recommended: 27 Jan 2018

16.

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas EN

Rating: 4.1     20 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Translated with an Introduction by Robin Buss
Genre
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

17.

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro by Christine Féret-Fleury EN

Rating: 3.5     9 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog, The Girl Who Reads on the Métro is the French phenomenon by Christine Féret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere . . . When Juliette takes the métro to her loathed office job each morning, her only escape is in books - she avidly reads on her journey and imagines what her fellow commuters' choices might say about them. Then she meets Soliman - the mysterious owner of the most enchanting bookshop Juliette has ever seen - and things will never be the same again. For Soliman believes in the power of books to change th... continue
Genre
Recommended: 13 Aug 2022

18.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint−Exupery EN

Rating: 4.5     13 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
The Little Prince and nbsp;(French: and nbsp;Le Petit Prince) is a and nbsp;novella and nbsp;by French aristocrat, writer, and aviator and nbsp;Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. It was first published in English and French in the US by and nbsp;Reynal and amp; Hitchcock and nbsp;in April 1943, and posthumously in France following the and nbsp;liberation of France and nbsp;as Saint-Exupéry's works had been banned by the and nbsp;Vichy Regime. The story follows a young prince who visits various planets in space, including Earth, and addresses themes of loneliness, friendship, love, and loss. Despite its... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

19.

The Mad Women's Ball by Victoria Mas EN

Rating: 3     3 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Soon to be a major film from Amazon Studios, the prizewinning French bestseller "In this darkly delightful Gothic treasure, Mas explores grief, trauma, and sisterhood behind the walls of Paris's infamous Salpêtrière hospital." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train The Salpetriere Asylum: Paris, 1885. Dr. Charcot holds all of Paris in thrall with his displays of hypnotism on women who have been deemed mad and cast out from society. But the truth is much more complicated--these women are often simply inconvenient, unwanted wives, those who have lost somet... continue
Genre
Recommended: 10 Jun 2022

20.

The Outsider by Albert Camus EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Translated from the French by Joseph Laredo. Modern classic.
Genre
Recommended: 04 Jan 2018


FIND BOOKS FROM FRANCE BY GENRE

Biography Essay Fantasy Historical Historical fiction Humor Philosophical Romance Science fiction

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto
|