Ireland flag Romance books from Ireland

Recommended romance books (10)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. If you are into romance here are some romance books from Ireland for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge.

1.

Airman by Eoin Colfer EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
Conor Broekhart was born to fly. Or more accurately, he was born flying. Little wonder he became what he became. In an age of discovery and invention, many dreamed of flying, but for Conor flight was more than just a dream, it was his destiny. In one dark night on the island of Great Saltee, a cruel and cunning betrayal destroyed his life and stole his future. Now Conor must win the race for flight, to save his family and right a terrible wrong...

2.

Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
In a small town in the south-east of Ireland in the 1950s, Eilis Lacey is among many of her generation who cannot find work at home. So when she is offered a job in America, she leaves her family to start a new life in Brooklyn, New York.

3.

Exciting Times : A Novel by Naoise Dolan EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
'The book of the summer ... Kept me rapt until the final page' THE TIMES 'A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it' David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY 'More than lives up to the hype ... Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers' lives' IRISH TIMES 'Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut' Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL 'I've been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan's pithy observations of her characters are the best I've read since Edward St Aubyn' OBSERVER 'A frankly sensational book' Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW 'In the tradition of... continue

4.

Grown Ups by Marian Keyes EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
INSTANT #1 BESTSELLER! A brand-new book from the #1 bestselling author of The Break and The Woman Who Stole My Life. They're a glamorous family, the Caseys. Johnny Casey, his two brothers Ed and Liam, their beautiful, talented wives and all their kids spend a lot of time together--birthday parties, anniversary celebrations, weekends away. And they're a happy family. Johnny's wife, Jessie--who has the most money--insists on it. Under the surface, though, conditions are murkier. While some people clash, other people like each other far too much . . . Still, everything manages to stay under contr... continue

5.

Juno Loves Legs : A Novel by Karl Geary EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
For fans of Shuggie Bain and A Little Life, Juno Loves Legs is the epic and heartbreaking story of a young friendship set in working-class Dublin in the 1980s Juno Loves Legs is the story of two teens labeled as delinquents. Juno and "Legs" grow up on the same housing estate in Dublin, where spirited, intelligent Juno is ostracized for her poverty and Legs is persecuted for his sexuality; they find safety only in each other. Set against the backdrop of Dublin in the 1980s, a place of political, social and religious change, the friends yearn for an unbound life and together they begin to fight ... continue

6.

Mr Salary by Sally Rooney EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
A deceptively low-key glance at love and death, from the acclaimed young author of the Booker-longlisted and Costa-shortlisted Normal People and Conversations with Friends.


8.

One by Sarah Crossan EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
Winner of the Carnegie Medal * Winner of the YA Book Prize * Winner of the Children’s Books Ireland Book of the Year Award Tippi and Grace share everything—clothes, friends . . . even their body. Writing in free verse, Sarah Crossan tells the sensitive and moving story of conjoined twin sisters, which will find fans in readers of Gayle Forman, Jodi Picoult, and Jandy Nelson. Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms around each other for balance. To fall asleep listening to the other breathing. To share. And to keep some things priv... continue

9.

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
It's the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom. The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara's life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara's family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items - but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear. But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

10.

The Happy Couple : Shortlisted for the Kerry Group Novel of the Year by Naoise Dolan EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
'A brilliant contemporary novel' Colm Tóibín 'I am fully in awe of Dolan's talent' Douglas Stuart 'I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed it' Marian Keyes 'Dazzling. Not a word is out of place' Katherine Heiny Meet Celine and Luke. To all intents and purposes, the happy couple. But Celine's more interested in playing the piano, and Luke's a serial cheater. And as their big day approaches, the complicated lives of the wedding party begin to unravel. A fed-up bridesmaid, a lovesick best man, guests and family members all find themselves searching for their own happily ever afters. From the author ... continue