Sierra Leone flag Books from Sierra Leone

5 popular sierra leonean books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Africa Challenge" were written by authors from Sierra Leone. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

A Long Way Gone : Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah EN

Rating: 4     9 Votes
Description:
My new friends have begun to suspect I haven’t told them the full story of my life. “Why did you leave Sierra Leone?” “Because there is a war.” “You mean, you saw people running around with guns and shooting each other?” “Yes, all the time.” “Cool.” I smile a little. “You should tell us about it sometime.” “Yes, sometime.” This is how wars are fought now: by children, hopped-up on drugs and wielding AK-47s. Children have become soldiers of choice. In the more than fifty conflicts going on worldwide, it is estimated that there are some 300,000 child soldiers. Ishmael Beah used to be one of them... continue

2.

Britons Through Negro Spectacles by Merriman-Labor EN

0 Ratings
Description:
'We shall therefore confine our walk to Central London where people meet on business during the day, and to West London where they meet for pleasure at night. If you will walk about the first City in the British Empire arm in arm with Merriman-Labor, you are sure to see Britons in merriment and at labour, by night and by day, in West and Central London.' In Britons Through Negro Spectacles Merriman-Labor takes us on a joyous, intoxicating tour of London at the turn of the 20th century. Slyly subverting the colonial gaze usually placed on Africa, he introduces us to the citizens, culture and cu... continue

3.

Collection of Poems by Samuella J Conteh EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Love Colours is a collection of poems mostly submitted for poetry contests on given themes and different poetry forms. Many of the poems featured in the collection are winning poems that have been featured in anthologies which are currently available on Amazon. Some of the anthologies that feature my poems from these contests are as follows: Eternally, Stairway to Heaven, Modern Poets, Sending Love to Mom, Bowl of Peace, Amazing Minds and Reminiscing Summer. Love Colours which is my first collection, was borne out of a desire to bring my scattered pieces under one collection.

4.

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
Outcasts by blood. Warriors by choice. THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER!The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle, Book Riot and Refinery 29. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death.... continue

5.

Un largo camino : Memorias de un niño soldado by Ishmael Beah ES

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Description:
Así es como se libran ahora las guerras: con niños traumatizados, drogados y empuñando AK-47. Los niños se han convertido en los mejores soldados. En los más de cincuenta conflictos violentos que existen actualmente en el mundo, se cree que hay más de 300,000 niños soldado. Ishmael Beah fue uno de ellos.


FIND BOOKS FROM SIERRA LEONE BY GENRE

Fantasy Humor Memoir Poetry Satire Travel