Singapore flag Books from Singapore

14 popular singaporean books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Asia Challenge" were written by authors from Singapore. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

A Spy in the House by Ying S. Lee EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Rescued from the gallows in 1850s London, young orphan and thief Mary Quinn is offered a place at Miss Scrimshaw's Academy for Girls where she is trained to be part of an all-female investigative unit called The Agency and, at age seventeen, she infiltrates a rich merchant's home in hopes of tracing his missing cargo ships.


3.

Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen EN

Rating: 2     2 Votes
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
For fans of Hustlers and How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, the story of two Asian American women who band together to grow a counterfeit handbag scheme into a global enterprise--an incisive and glittering blend of fashion, crime, and friendship from the author of Bury What We Cannot Take and Soy Sauce for Beginners. Money can't buy happiness... but it can buy a decent fake. Ava Wong has always played it safe. As a strait-laced, rule-abiding Chinese American lawyer with a successful surgeon as a husband, a young son, and a beautiful home--she's built the perfect life. But beneath this faça... continue
Genre

4.

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan EN

Rating: 4     4 Votes
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Envisioning a summer vacation in the humble Singapore home of a boy she hopes to marry, Chinese American Rachel Chu is unexpectedly introduced to a rich and scheming clan that strongly opposes their son's relationship with an American girl.

5.

El legado by Balli Kaur Jaswal ES

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Singapur, 1971. Amrit, una joven adolescente, desaparece de su casa en plena noche. Aunque su ausencia es breve, regresa convertida en una persona diferente. El episodio provoca una auténtica grieta que amenaza con fracturar a su familia, sij y de origen punyabí. En las dos décadas siguientes, asistimos a la evolución del panorama político y social de Singapur durante el periodo de 1970 a 1990 , mientras la familia de Amrit debe afrontar los cambios de mentalidad de la sociedad con respecto a las castas, la cultura juvenil, el sexo, los roles de género... continue

6.

Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows : A Novel by Balli Kaur Jaswal EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club Pick A lively, sexy, and thought-provoking East-meets-West story about community, friendship, and women’s lives at all ages—a spicy and alluring mix of Together Tea and Calendar Girls. Every woman has a secret life . . . Nikki lives in cosmopolitan West London, where she tends bar at the local pub. The daughter of Indian immigrants, she’s spent most of her twenty-odd years distancing herself from the traditional Sikh community of her childhood, preferring a more independent (that is, Western) life. When her father’s death leaves the family financially strapped, Ni... continue

7.

Forgotten Women: The Leaders by Zing Tsjeng EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Selected for the Evening Standard present gift guide of the year 'To say this series is "empowering" doesn't do it justice. Buy a copy for your daughters, sisters, mums, aunts and nieces - just make sure you buy a copy for your sons, brothers, dads, uncles and nephews, too.' - indy100 'Here's to no more forgotten women.' Evening Standard The women who shaped and were erased from our history. The Forgotten Women series will uncover the lost histories of the influential women who have refused over hundreds of years to accept the hand they've been dealt and, as a result, have formed, shaped and c... continue

8.

How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
A beautiful, stunningly ambitious tale of endurance, identity, and memory, for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones.

9.

Now You See Us by Balli Kaur Jaswal EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
We are invisible: we clean your houses, we look after your children, we know your secrets. But now you know one of ours...

10.

The Black Tides of Heaven by Neon Yang EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
JY Yang bursts onto the epic fantasy scene with The Black Tides of Heaven and The Red Threads of Fortune, standalone twin novellas that begin their silkpunk Tensorate Series. Mokoya and Akeha, the twin children of the Protector, were sold to the Grand Monastery as children. While Mokoya developed her strange prophetic gift, Akeha was always the one who could see the strings that moved adults to action. While his sister received visions of what would be, Akeha realized what could be. What's more, he saw the sickness at the heart of his mother's Protectorate. A rebellion is growing. The Machinis... continue
Tags:


FIND BOOKS FROM SINGAPORE BY GENRE

Adult Biography Cultural Essay Fantasy Historical Historical fiction Humor Mystery Romance Satire Young Adult