Singapore flag Books from Singapore

Recommended books (5)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the Read Around Asia Challenge were written by authors from singapore. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen EN

Rating: 3     4 Votes
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
For fans of Hustlers and How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, the story of two Asian American women who band together to grow a counterfeit handbag scheme into a global enterprise--an incisive and glittering blend of fashion, crime, and friendship from the author of Bury What We Cannot Take and Soy Sauce for Beginners. Money can't buy happiness... but it can buy a decent fake. Ava Wong has always played it safe. As a strait-laced, rule-abiding Chinese American lawyer with a successful surgeon as a husband, a young son, and a beautiful home--she's built the perfect life. But beneath this faça... continue
Genre
Recommended: 21 Jul 2022

2.

Forgotten Women: The Leaders by Zing Tsjeng EN

Rating: 2     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
'To say this series is "empowering" doesn't do it justice. Buy a copy for your daughters, sisters, mums, aunts and nieces - just make sure you buy a copy for your sons, brothers, dads, uncles and nephews, too.' - indy100 'Here's to no more forgotten women.' Evening Standard The women who shaped and were erased from our history. The Forgotten Women series will uncover the lost histories of the influential women who have refused over hundreds of years to accept the hand they've been dealt and, as a result, have formed, shaped and changed the course of our futures. The Leaders weaves together 48*... continue
Recommended: 28 Feb 2021

3.
How We Disappeared

How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee EN

Rating: 4.3     4 Votes
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
A beautiful, stunningly ambitious tale of endurance, identity, and memory, for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Georgia Hunter's We Were the Lucky Ones.
Recommended: 20 Nov 2022

4.

The Black Tides of Heaven by Neon Yang EN

Rating: 3.5     16 Votes
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
JY Yang bursts onto the epic fantasy scene with The Black Tides of Heaven and The Red Threads of Fortune, standalone twin novellas that begin their silkpunk Tensorate Series. Mokoya and Akeha, the twin children of the Protector, were sold to the Grand Monastery as children. While Mokoya developed her strange prophetic gift, Akeha was always the one who could see the strings that moved adults to action. While his sister received visions of what would be, Akeha realized what could be. What's more, he saw the sickness at the heart of his mother's Protectorate. A rebellion is growing. The Machinis... continue
Recommended: 11 Sep 2022

5.

The Punkhawala and the Prostitute by Wesley Leon Aroozoo EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Behind the golden façade of a land filled with opportunities dwell two destitute souls, shipped to Singapore in the late 1800s. Oseki, an ingenue forced into prostitution as a karayuki, grapples with being betrayed by her own father and transforms into a monster she can’t recognise. Gobind, a deaf convict from India, serves his sentence as a punkhawala to a British hunter obsessed with killing Rimau Satan, a man-eating tiger of mythic proportions. Whenever Gobind hunts with his master, his butchered memories lurk in the darkness, aching to pounce. When Oseki’s and Gobind’s paths intertwine, th... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022


FIND BOOKS FROM SINGAPORE BY GENRE

Essay Fantasy Historical Historical fiction

FIND BOOKS FROM SINGAPORE BY LANGUAGE

English

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map