Singapore flag Books from Singapore

28 popular singaporean books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Asia Challenge" were written by authors from Singapore. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

A Spy in the House by Ying S. Lee EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Rescued from the gallows in 1850s London, young orphan and thief Mary Quinn is offered a place at Miss Scrimshaw's Academy for Girls where she is trained to be part of an all-female investigative unit called The Agency and, at age seventeen, she infiltrates a rich merchant's home in hopes of tracing his missing cargo ships.


3.

Counterfeit by Kirstin Chen EN

Rating: 2 (2 votes)
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
For fans of Hustlers and How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, the story of two Asian American women who band together to grow a counterfeit handbag scheme into a global enterprise--an incisive and glittering blend of fashion, crime, and friendship from the author of Bury What We Cannot Take and Soy Sauce for Beginners. Money can't buy happiness... but it can buy a decent fake. Ava Wong has always played it safe. As a strait-laced, rule-abiding Chinese American lawyer with a successful surgeon as a husband, a young son, and a beautiful home--she's built the perfect life. But beneath this faça... continue
Genre


5.

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan EN

Rating: 4 (6 votes)
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Envisioning a summer vacation in the humble Singapore home of a boy she hopes to marry, Chinese American Rachel Chu is unexpectedly introduced to a rich and scheming clan that strongly opposes their son's relationship with an American girl.

6.

Culture Shock! : Spain by Marie Louise Graff EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Whether you travel for business, pleasure, or a combination of the two, the ever-popular "Culture Shock!" series belongs in your backpack or briefcase. Get the nuts-and-bolts information you need to survive and thrive wherever you go. "Culture Shock!" country guides are easy-to-read, accurate, and entertaining crash courses in local customs and etiquette. "Culture Shock!" practical guides offer the inside information you need whether you're a student, a parent, a globetrotter, or a working traveler. Each "Culture Shock!" title is written by someone who's lived and worked in the country, and ea... continue

7.

Dearest Intimate by Suchen Christine Lim EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
From an award-winning Singaporean novelist comes a multi-layered tale about love, sisterhood, spousal abuse, and Cantonese opera in the lives of three generations of women--all set against the dramatic sweep of Singapore's development The famous cross-dressing Cantonese opera singer Chan Kam Foong passes away, leaving her secret journal to her granddaughter, Xiu Yin, an archival officer at the Singapore National Archives. Xiu Yin reads through the journal that chronicles her grandmother's relationship with Dearest Intimate in their village in China to their respective escapes to the Nanyang be... continue

8.

Dinner on Monster Island: Essays by Tania De Rozario EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
In this unusual, engaging, and intimate collection of personal essays, Lambda Literary Award finalist Tania De Rozario recalls growing up as a queer, brown, fat girl in Singapore, blending memoir with elements of history, pop culture, horror films, and current events to explore the nature of monsters and what it means to be different. Tania De Rozario was just twelve years old when she was gay-exorcised. Convinced that her boyish style and demeanor were a sign of something wicked, her mother and a pair of her church friends tried to "banish the evil" from Tania. That day, the young girl realiz... continue

9.

El legado by Balli Kaur Jaswal ES

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Singapur, 1971. Amrit, una joven adolescente, desaparece de su casa en plena noche. Aunque su ausencia es breve, regresa convertida en una persona diferente. El episodio provoca una auténtica grieta que amenaza con fracturar a su familia, sij y de origen punyabí. En las dos décadas siguientes, asistimos a la evolución del panorama político y social de Singapur durante el periodo de 1970 a 1990 , mientras la familia de Amrit debe afrontar los cambios de mentalidad de la sociedad con respecto a las castas, la cultura juvenil, el sexo, los roles de género... continue

10.

Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows : A Novel by Balli Kaur Jaswal EN

Rating: 4 (4 votes)
Country: Asia / Singapore flag Singapore
Description:
Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club Pick A lively, sexy, and thought-provoking East-meets-West story about community, friendship, and women’s lives at all ages—a spicy and alluring mix of Together Tea and Calendar Girls. Every woman has a secret life . . . Nikki lives in cosmopolitan West London, where she tends bar at the local pub. The daughter of Indian immigrants, she’s spent most of her twenty-odd years distancing herself from the traditional Sikh community of her childhood, preferring a more independent (that is, Western) life. When her father’s death leaves the family financially strapped, Ni... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM SINGAPORE BY GENRE

Adult Biography Contemporary fiction Cultural Domestic fiction Essay Fantasy Feminism Historical Historical fiction Humor Magical realism Memoir Mystery Poetry Romance Satire Science fiction Short story Travel Young Adult