South Africa flag Feminism books from South Africa

Recommended feminism books (2)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. If you are into feminism here are some feminism books from South Africa for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge.

1.

Hum If You Don't Know the Words by Bianca Marais EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy. Life under Apartheid has created a secure future for Robin Conrad, a ten-year-old white girl living with her parents in 1970s Johannesburg. In the same nation but worlds apart, Beauty Mbali, a Xhosa woman in a rural village in the Bantu homeland of the Transkei, struggles to raise her children alone after her husband's death. Both lives have been built upon the division of race, and their meeting should never have ... continue

2.
Règles douloureuses

Règles douloureuses by Kopano Matlwa FR

0 Ratings
Description:
Nous sommes en 2015, en Afrique du Sud. Des années durant, Masechaba a souffert de douleurs chroniques liées à une endométriose. Le sang a forgé son caractère, non seulement il a fait d'elle une personne solitaire, presque craintive, mais il l'a aussi poussé à devenir médecin. Quand débute le roman, elle est interne dans un hôpital. Dans le flux ininterrompu des patients, elle s'interroge sur sa capacité à les aimer tous, à leur donner toutes ses forces, tout son dévouement. E... continue