United States of America flag Books from United States of America

276 popular american books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around North America Challenge" were written by authors from United States of America. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

61.

Daughters of the NIght Sky by Aimie K Runyan EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
A novel--inspired by the most celebrated regiment in the Red Army--about a woman's sacrifice, courage, and love in a time of war. Russia, 1941. Katya Ivanova is a young pilot in a far-flung military academy in the Ural Mountains. From childhood, she's dreamed of taking to the skies to escape her bleak mountain life. With the Nazis on the march across Europe, she is called on to use her wings to serve her country in its darkest hour. Not even the entreaties of her new husband--a sensitive artist who fears for her safety--can dissuade her from doing her part as a proud daughter of Russia. After ... continue


63.

Der Outsider by Stephen King DE

0 Ratings
Description:
Im Stadtpark von Flint City wird die geschändete Leiche eines elfjährigen Jungen gefunden. Augenzeugenberichte und Tatortspuren deuten unmissverständlich auf einen unbescholtenen Bürger: Terry Maitland, ein allseits beliebter Englischlehrer, zudem Coach der Jugendbaseballmannschaft, verheiratet, zwei kleine Töchter. Detective Ralph Anderson, dessen Sohn von Maitland trainiert wurde, ordnet eine sofortige Festnahme an, die in aller Öffentlichkeit stattfindet. Der Verdächtige kann zwar ein Alibi vorweisen, aber Anderson und der Staatsanwalt verfügen nach d... continue



66.

Djibouti by Elmore Leonard EN

Rating: 2 (1 vote)
Description:
Dara Barr, documentary filmmaker, is at the top of her game. She's covered neo-Nazis and post-Katrina New Orleans, but now she's looking for an even bigger challenge. So Dara and her right-hand man Xavier head to Djibouti, on the Horn of Africa, to tackle modern-day pirates. But they soon find a whole lot more than they bargained for and quickly learn that almost no one in Djibouti is what he seems. A mob of colourful characters patrols the seas, including a pirate chief with a taste for fine cars and an Oxford-educated sheik with scams of his own. And then there's the gun-toting Texan billion... continue
Genre

67.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
By 2021, companies have built incredibly realistic androids. Fearful of the havoc these artificial humans could wreak, the government bans them from Earth, but when androids don't want to be identified, they just blend in. Rick Deckard is an officially sanctioned bounty hunter whose job is to find rogue androids and "retire" them. But cornered, they tend to fight back, with deadly results.

68.

Dominicana by Angie Cruz EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
“I have been eagerly waiting for a new book from Angie Cruz. So glad the time has come.” —Edwidge Danticat, author of Brother I’m Dying and Breath, Eyes, Memory “Gorgeous writing, gorgeous story.” —Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street “An essential read for our times.” —Cristina Garcia, author of Dreaming in Cuban Fifteen-year-old Ana Cancion never dreamed of moving to America, the way the girls she grew up with in the Dominican countryside did. But when Juan Ruiz proposes and promises to take her to New York City, she has to say yes. It doesn’t matter that he is twice her age,... continue
Genre

69.

Don't believe it by Charlie Donlea EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
From the acclaimed author of Twenty Years Later comes a twisting, impossible-to-put-down novel of suspense in which a filmmaker helps clear a woman convicted of murder—only to find she may be a puppet in a sinister game. Fans of Freida McFadden and Alice Feeney will be left breathless by this unforgettable thriller that builds to a shocking conclusion... The Girl of Sugar Beach is the most watched documentary in television history—a riveting, true-life mystery that unfolds over twelve weeks and centers on a fascinating question: Did Grace Sebold murder her boyfriend, Julian, while on a Spring ... continue

70.

Don’t Know Tough by Eli Cranor EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
WINNER OF THE EDGAR AWARD WINNER OF THE PETER LOVESEY FIRST CRIME NOVEL CONTEST Friday Night Lights gone dark with Southern Gothic; Eli Cranor delivers a powerful noir that will appeal to fans of Wiley Cash and Megan Abbott. In Denton, Arkansas, the fate of the high school football team rests on the shoulders of Billy Lowe, a volatile but talented running back. Billy comes from an extremely troubled home: a trailer park where he is terrorized by his mother’s abusive boyfriend. Billy takes out his anger on the field, but when his savagery crosses a line, he faces suspension. Without Billy Lowe,... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM UNITED STATES OF AMERICA BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Biography Children's literature Comic Contemporary fiction Crime Cultural Dystopia Economics Essay Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Horror Humor Magical realism Memoir Mystery Mythology Personal Finance Philosophical Poetry Political Psychology Religious Romance Satire Science fiction Self-help Short story Textbook Thriller Travel Young Adult