United States of America flag Books from United States of America

276 popular american books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around North America Challenge" were written by authors from United States of America. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

81.

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk RO

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
Traducere si note de Dan Croitoru Publicat in 1996 si devenit un clasic al literaturii underground, „Fight Club”, debutul lui Chuck Palahniuk, este unanim considerat in momentul de fata drept unul dintre cele mai originale si provocatoare romane scrise in ultimul deceniu al secolului XX. Romanul este povestea unui tinar care traieste intr-o lume plina de esecuri si de minciuni. El isi gaseste debuseul in batai clandestine organizate in subsolurile barurilor dupa ora inchiderii. Nascut din mintea lui Tyler Durden, „Fight Club” reprezinta un mod de evadare din existentel... continue

82.

Fire by Kristin Cashore EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Set in a world of stunningly beautiful, exceptionally dangerous monsters, Fire is one of the most dangerous monsters of all - a human one. Marked out by her vivid red hair, she's more than attractive. Fire is mesmerising. But with this extraordinary beauty comes influence and power. People who are susceptible to her appeal will do anything for her attention, and for her affection. They will turn away from their families, their work, and their duties for her. They will forget their responsibilities to please her ... and worse, crush nations, neglect kingdoms and abuse their power. Aware of her ... continue

83.

First Lie Wins : Reese's Book Club Pick (A Novel) by Ashley Elston EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK | #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “This fast-paced read has everything you could want in a thriller: secret identities, a mysterious boss and a cat & mouse game that kept me guessing the whole way through.”—Reese Witherspoon Evie Porter has everything a nice, Southern girl could want: a perfect, doting boyfriend, a house with a white picket fence and a garden, a fancy group of friends. The only catch: Evie Porter doesn’t exist. The identity comes first: Evie Porter. Once she’s given a name and location by her mysterious boss Mr. Smith, she learns everything there is to know... continue

84.

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
A mentally retarded adult has a brain operation that turns him into a genius.

85.

For Rouenna by Sigrid Nunez EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
In this haunting novel, a friendship springs up between a writer and a retired army nurse who seeks her out decades after their childhood in the same housing project. "For Rouenna" is an unforgettable work about truth, memory, and unexpected heroism by one of the most gifted writers of her generation.

86.

Freshman Year (A Graphic Novel) by Sarah Mai EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A stylish graphic novel about the unique angst, humor, and self-doubt that comes with going away to college—perfect for fans of Heartstopper. Everyone gets a fresh start. Who do you want to be? Sarah is leaving suburban Wisconsin for college n Minnesota. She has high hopes for the future: impress her professors, meet interesting new people, stay close to her best friends and boyfriend back home, flourish as an artist, and shed her lingering high school anxieties. What seems manageable at first quickly unravels into a tailspin and she is overwhelmed by the freedom, the isolation, and all the po... continue

87.

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg EN

Rating: 2 (1 vote)
Description:
Mrs. Threadgoode's tale of two high-spirited women of the 1930s, Idgie and Ruth, helps Evelyn, a 1980s woman in a sad slump of middle age, to begin to rejuvenate her own life.


89.

Giovanni's Room by James Baldwin EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
First published in 1957, this book attempts to tackle the conflict between homosexual and heterosexual love. It tells of David, a young man awakening to his true homosexual nature, through a relationship with a barman named Giovanni, as he awaits his fiancee's arrival from Spain.

90.

Girls That Never Die : Poems by Safia Elhillo EN

0 Ratings
Description:
NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Intimate poems that explore feminine shame and violence and imagine what liberation from these threats might look like, from the award-winning author of The January Children “Incredibly moving . . . Every single poem is stellar.”—Roxane Gay, author of Difficult Women and Hunger In Girls That Never Die, award-winning poet Safia Elhillo reinvents the epic to explore Muslim girlhood and shame, the dangers of being a woman, and the myriad violences enacted and imagined against women’s bodies. Drawing from her own life and family histories, as well as cultural myths and news s... continue
Genre


FIND BOOKS FROM UNITED STATES OF AMERICA BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Biography Children's literature Comic Contemporary fiction Crime Cultural Dystopia Economics Essay Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Horror Humor Magical realism Memoir Mystery Mythology Personal Finance Philosophical Poetry Political Psychology Religious Romance Satire Science fiction Self-help Short story Textbook Thriller Travel Young Adult