Cultural genre books (176)


41.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck EN

Rating: 4.5     22 Votes
Description:
The biblical account of Cain and Abel is echoed in the history of two generations of the Trask family in California.

42.

East of the West : A Country in Stories by Miroslav Penkov EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Bulgaria flag Bulgaria
Description:
Collects stories inspired by the author's native Bulgaria, including the tales of a grandson who tries to buy Lenin's corpse on eBay for his grandfather and a boy who meets a cousin every five years on the river that divides their village.


44.

Eugene Onegin by Alexander Pushkin EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Russia flag Russia
Description:
Still the benchmark of Russian literature 175 years after its first publication—now in a marvelous new translation Pushkin's incomparable poem has at its center a young Russian dandy much like Pushkin in his attitudes and habits. Eugene Onegin, bored with the triviality of everyday life, takes a trip to the countryside, where he encounters the young and passionate Tatyana. She falls in love with him but is cruelly rejected. Years later, Eugene Onegin sees the error of his ways, but fate is not on his side. A tragic story about love, innocence, and friendship, this beautifully written tale is a... continue

45.

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Description:
Fans of Exciting Times and Convenience Store Woman will devour this funny and original literary debut about the unintentional consequences of anxiety and the relentless pressures of modern life, starring the most unforgettable literary creation since Eleanor Oliphant and Fleabag.

46.

Faith Among Shadows by Malcolm Leal EN

0 Ratings
Country: North America / Cuba flag Cuba
Description:
Lying face down on the muddy jungle floor, with the taste of his own blood in his mouth, all Malcolm Leal could do was call upon the God of his great-grandmother. Florencia Martinez Hernandez raised Malcolm as her own son in a small fishing village on the northern coast of Cuba. Teaching Malcolm wisdom gleaned from the worn pages of her century-old Bible, Florencia spoke of a temple "promised to all people" and that there were men on earth who "walked with God." Most importantly, she taught him to rely on "her" God for everything. While on assignment for the Cuban Special Forces in the dense r... continue

47.

Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Russia flag Russia
Description:
Considered one of the world's greatest novels, this controversial classic offers modern readers a vivid, timeless depiction of the clash between the older Russian aristocracy and the youthful radicalism that foreshadowed the revolution. Includes a new Introduction. Reissue.

48.

Faust by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe DE

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Country: Europe / Germany flag Germany
Description:
Den store tragedien om alkymisten og filosofen Faust er en av hjørnesteinenei tysk - og europeisk - litteratur. Det sentrale motivet er pakten Faust har inngått med djevelen: Faust skal få hjelp til å nå alle sine mål, men han skal miste sin sjel til det onde dersom han fristes til å holde fast ved øyeblikket og glemmer sin sannhetssøken og streben etter erkjennelse.

49.

Friend of my Youth by Amit Chaudhuri EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
A novelist named Amit Chaudhuri visits his childhood home of Bombay. The city, reeling from the memory of the 2008 terrorist attacks, weighs heavily on Amit's mind, as does the unexpected absence of his childhood friend Ramu, a drifting, opaque figure who is Amit's last remaining connection to the city he once called home.

50.

Ghost Season : A Novel by Fatin Abbas EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Sudan flag Sudan
Description:
A dynamic, beautifully orchestrated debut novel connecting five characters caught in the crosshairs of conflict on the Sudanese border. A mysterious burnt corpse appears one morning in Saraaya, a remote border town between northern and southern Sudan. For five strangers on an NGO compound, the discovery foreshadows trouble to come. South Sudanese translator William connects the corpse to the sudden disappearance of cook Layla, a northern nomad with whom he’s fallen in love. Meanwhile, Sudanese American filmmaker Dena struggles to connect to her unfamiliar homeland, and white midwestern aid wor... continue