Cultural genre books (228)


51.

Dream on Monkey Mountain : And Other Plays by Derek Walcott EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Description:
On a Caribbean island, the morning after a full moon, Felix Hobain tears through the market in a drunken rage. Taken away to sober up in jail, all that night he is gripped by hallucinations: the impoverished hermit believes he has become a healer, walking from village to village, tending to the sick, waiting for a sign from God. In this dream, his one companion, Moustique, wants to exploit his power. Moustique decides to impersonate a prophet himself, ignoring a coffin-maker who warns him he will die and enraging the people of the island. Hobain, half-awake in his desolate jail cell, terrorize... continue

52.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck EN

Rating: 5 (4 votes)
Description:
The biblical account of Cain and Abel is echoed in the history of two generations of the Trask family in California.

53.

East of the West : A Country in Stories by Miroslav Penkov EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Bulgaria flag Bulgaria
Description:
Collects stories inspired by the author's native Bulgaria, including the tales of a grandson who tries to buy Lenin's corpse on eBay for his grandfather and a boy who meets a cousin every five years on the river that divides their village.


55.

Estupor y temblores by Amélie Nothomb ES

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Belgium flag Belgium
Description:
Esta novela de inspiración autobiográfica, que ha obtenido un enorme éxito en Francia, cuenta la historia de una joven belga que empieza a trabajar en Tokio en una gran compañía japonesa. Pero en el Japón actual, fuertemente jerarquizado, la joven tiene e

56.

Eugene Onegin by Alexander Pushkin EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Europe / Russia flag Russia
Description:
Still the benchmark of Russian literature 175 years after its first publication—now in a marvelous new translation Pushkin's incomparable poem has at its center a young Russian dandy much like Pushkin in his attitudes and habits. Eugene Onegin, bored with the triviality of everyday life, takes a trip to the countryside, where he encounters the young and passionate Tatyana. She falls in love with him but is cruelly rejected. Years later, Eugene Onegin sees the error of his ways, but fate is not on his side. A tragic story about love, innocence, and friendship, this beautifully written tale is a... continue

57.

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
Fans of Exciting Times and Convenience Store Woman will devour this funny and original literary debut about the unintentional consequences of anxiety and the relentless pressures of modern life, starring the most unforgettable literary creation since Eleanor Oliphant and Fleabag.

58.

Facundo : Civilization and Barbarism by Domingo Faustino Sarmiento EN

Rating: 2 (1 vote)
Description:
An educator and writer, Sarmiento was President of Argentina from 1868 to 1874. His Facundo is a study of the Argentine character, a prescription for the modernization of Latin America, and a protest against the tyranny of the government of Juan Manuel de Rosas (1835-1852). The book brings nineteenth-century Latin American history to life even as it raises questions still being debated today--questions regarding the "civilized" city versus the "barbaric" countryside, the treatment of indigenous and African populations, and the classically liberal plan of modernization.

59.

Faith Among Shadows by Malcolm Leal EN

0 Ratings
Country: North America / Cuba flag Cuba
Description:
Lying face down on the muddy jungle floor, with the taste of his own blood in his mouth, all Malcolm Leal could do was call upon the God of his great-grandmother. Florencia Martinez Hernandez raised Malcolm as her own son in a small fishing village on the northern coast of Cuba. Teaching Malcolm wisdom gleaned from the worn pages of her century-old Bible, Florencia spoke of a temple "promised to all people" and that there were men on earth who "walked with God." Most importantly, she taught him to rely on "her" God for everything. While on assignment for the Cuban Special Forces in the dense r... continue

60.

Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Russia flag Russia
Description:
Considered one of the world's greatest novels, this controversial classic offers modern readers a vivid, timeless depiction of the clash between the older Russian aristocracy and the youthful radicalism that foreshadowed the revolution. Includes a new Introduction. Reissue.