Dyspotia genre books (21)


1.

Blindness by José Saramago EN

Rating: 3.5     152 Votes
Country: Europe / Portugal flag Portugal
Description:
No food, no water, no government, no obligation, no order. Discover a chillingly powerful and prescient dystopian vision from one of Europe's greatest writers. A driver waiting at the traffic lights goes blind. An ophthalmologist tries to diagnose his distinctive white blindness, but is affected before he can read the textbooks. It becomes a contagion, spreading throughout the city. Trying to stem the epidemic, the authorities herd the afflicted into a mental asylum where the wards are terrorised by blind thugs. And when fire destroys the asylum, the inmates burst forth and the last links with... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

2.
De geheugenpolitie

De geheugenpolitie by Yoko Ogawa NL

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
De bewoners van een eiland krijgen het steeds lastiger als steeds meer zaken vanwege staatswege verdwijnen.
Recommended: 02 Dec 2022

3.
Ice

Ice by Anna Kavan EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Recommended: 13 Oct 2022

4.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff EN

Rating: 4.5     79 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series. “Never have I read a book so wholly unique and utterly captivating.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend trilogy This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that's little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and E... continue

5.

Internment by Samira Ahmed EN

Rating: 3.5     12 Votes
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
'Samira has created a chilling, powerful, all-too-real near future that's a must-read for everyone's TBR' Karen M. McManus, author of One Of Us Is Lying 'A must-read . . . A heart-rending and all-too credible tale of sacrifice, the ugly face of authority and the courage of youth' Sunday Times' Children's Book of the Month 'A tremendous novel' the Guardian Rebellions are built on hope. Set in a horrifying 'fifteen minutes in the future' United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin is forced into an internment camp for Muslim-Americans along with her parents. With the help of newly-made friends ... continue
Recommended: 11 Sep 2022

6.

Legend by Marie Lu EN

Rating: 4     2693 Votes
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
In a dark future, when North America has split into two warring nations, 15-year-olds Day, a famous criminal, and June, the brilliant soldier hired to capture him, discover that they have a common enemy.P. Putnam's Sons.
Recommended: 11 Sep 2022

7.

Little Eyes by Samanta Schweblin EN

Rating: 4.4     6 Votes
Description:
A visionary novel about the collision of technology and play, horror and humanity, from a master of the spine-tingling tale. They've infiltrated homes in Hong Kong, shops in Vancouver, the streets of Senegal, town squares of Oaxaca, schools in Tel Aviv, bedrooms in Ohio. They're following you. They're everywhere now. They're us. In Samanta Schweblin's wildly imaginative new novel, Little Eyes, "kentukis" have gone viral across the globe. They're little mechanical stuffed animals that have cameras for eyes, wheels for feet, and are connected to an anonymous global server. Owners of kentukis hav... continue

8.

Memory of Water : A Novel by Emmi Itäranta EN

Rating: 4     20 Votes
Country: Europe / Finland flag Finland
Description:
The award-winning speculative debut novel, now in English for the first time! In the far north of the Scandinavian Union, now occupied by the power state of New Qian, seventeen-year-old Noria Kaitio studies to become a tea master like her father. It is a position that holds great responsibility and a dangerous secret. Tea masters alone know the location of hidden water sources, including the natural spring that once provided water for her whole village. When Noria's father dies, the secret of the spring reaches the new military commander . . . and the power of the army is vast indeed. But the ... continue
Recommended: 31 Oct 2022

9.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro EN

Rating: 3.5     495 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
NOBEL PRIZE WINNER • From the acclaimed, bestselling author of The Remains of the Day comes “a Gothic tour de force" (The New York Times) with an extraordinary twist—a moving, suspenseful, beautifully atmospheric modern classic. As children, Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside. It was a place of mercurial cliques and mysterious rules where teachers were constantly reminding their charges of how special they were. Now, years later, Kathy is a young woman. Ruth and Tommy have reentered her life. And for the first time... continue

10.

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell EN

Rating: 4     580 Votes
Description:
George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four is unquestionably the most famous dystopian novel of all times. Written in the year of 1948, the author swapped the last two digits while describing a future totalitarian society where the minds, attitudes and actions of the subjects are thoroughly scrutinized by the "Thought Police", suspected dissidents tracked down and where the worship of the mythical party leader Big Brother is forced upon the masses. The low-ranking party member Winston Smith begins secretly to question the whole system and initiates a forbidden love affair with another party member.
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022


Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map