Thriller genre books (9)


1.

Leave the World Behind : A Novel by Rumaan Alam EN

Rating: 3.5     48 Votes
Country: Asia / Bangladesh flag Bangladesh
Description:
"A ... novel about two families--strangers to each other--who are forced together on a long weekend gone terribly wrong"--

2.

Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun EN

Rating: 4.2     5 Votes
Country: Asia / South Korea flag South Korea
Description:
Focusing on the unsolved murder of teenage girl, this literary novel offers insights into gender, class and privilege in Seoul, and marks the English-language debut for award-winning Korean author, Kwon Yeo-sun.
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

3.

My Annihilation by Fuminori Nakamura EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
What transforms a person into a killer? Can it be something as small as a suggestion? Turn this page, and you may forfeit your entire life. With My Annihilation, Fuminori Nakamura, master of literary noir, has constructed a puzzle box of a narrative in the form of a confessional diary that implicates its reader in a heinous crime. Delving relentlessly into the darkest corners of human consciousness, My Annihilation interrogates the unspeakable thoughts all humans share that can be monstrous when brought to life, revealing with disturbing honesty the psychological motives of a killer.
Recommended: 14 Sep 2022

4.

My Sweet Girl by Amanda Jayatissa EN

Rating: 3.3     3 Votes
Country: Asia / Sri Lanka flag Sri Lanka
Description:
'My Sweet Girl is like nothing else I've read. Set in San Francisco and Sri Lanka, this is a story about friendship, lies, and guilt. A stunning and original must-read' Samantha Downing, Sunday Times bestselling author of My Lovely Wife A girl in a new country. A dark secret left behind. A dead body which might tell all. Ever since she was adopted from an orphanage in Sri Lanka, Paloma has led a privileged Californian life: the best schools, a generous allowance and parents so perfect that Paloma fears she'll never live up to them. Now at thirty, Paloma has managed to disappoint her parents so... continue
Recommended: 26 Oct 2022

5.

Smaller and Smaller Circles by F.H. Batacan EN

Rating: 3.5     6 Votes
Country: Asia / Philippines flag Philippines
Description:
This harrowing mystery, winner of the Philippine National Book Award, follows two Catholic priests on the hunt through Manila for a brutal serial killer Payatas, a 50-acre dump northeast of Manila’s Quezon City, is home to thousands of people who live off of what they can scavenge there. It is one of the poorest neighborhoods in a city whose law enforcement is already stretched thin, devoid of forensic resources and rife with corruption. So when the eviscerated bodies of preteen boys begin to appear in the dump heaps, there is no one to seek justice on their behalf. In the rainy summer of 1997... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

6.

Summer, Fireworks, and My Corpse by Otsuichi EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
A coming of age story, right after death. L to R (Western Style). Two short novels, including the title story and Black Fairy Tale, plus a bonus short story. Summer is a simple story of a nine-year-old girl who dies while on summer vacation. While her youthful killers try to hide the her body, she tells us the story—from the POV of her dead body—of the boys' attempt to get away murder. Black Fairy Tale is classic J-horror: a young girl loses an eye in an accident, but receives a transplant. Now she can see again, but what she sees out of her new left eye is the experiences and memories of its ... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

7.

The Decagon House Murders by Yukito Ayatsuji EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
"Ayatsuji's brilliant and richly atmospheric puzzle will appeal to fans of golden age whodunits... Every word counts, leading up to a jaw-dropping but logical reveal" — Publishers Weekly A hugely enjoyable, page-turning murder mystery sure to appeal to fans of Elly Griffiths, Anthony Horowitz, and Agatha Christie, with one of the best and most-satisfying conclusions you'll ever read. A classic in Japan, available in English for the first time. From The New York Times Book Review: "Read Yukito Ayatsuji’s landmark mystery, The Decagon House Murders, and discover a real depth of feeling beneath t... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

8.

The Disaster Tourist : A Novel by Yun Ko-Eun EN

Rating: 3.5     6 Votes
Country: Asia / South Korea flag South Korea
Description:
Welcome to the desert island of Mui, where a paid vacation to paradise is nothing short of a disaster in this “mordantly witty novel [that] reads like a highly literary, ultra–incisive thriller (Refinery29). Jungle is a cutting–edge travel agency specializing in tourism to destinations devastated by disaster and climate change. And until she found herself at the mercy of a predatory colleague, Yona was one of their top representatives. Now on the verge of losing her job, she’s given a proposition: take a paid “vacation” to the desert island of Mui and pose as a tourist to assess the company’s ... continue
Recommended: 24 Aug 2022

9.

ZOO (Novel) by Otsuichi EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
L to R (Western Style). Ten stories of horror and science fiction from Japan’s hottest young author. In one story, the last man on Earth turns out to be a robot. In another story, a man builds a house from the bodies of his murder victims. And in the book’s eponymous story, a man sees his girlfriend’s corpse decompose… one Polaroid snapshot at a time!
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022


Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map