Fantasy genre books (7)


1.

Bartlett and the Ice Voyage by Odo Hirsch EN

Rating: 2     1 Vote
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
The Queen is a very busy woman who rules over seven kingdoms, some of which she has never even seen. Each kingdom is filled with its own exotic delights, and her loyal subjects constantly send her gifts from far and wide. But there is one fruit she craves--the melidrop--which, until now, has been out of her reach because it rots on the long journey from the far off country in which it grows. This is where Bartlett--the intrepid, stubborn, inventive and irreverent explorer--comes in! A rip-roaring, fantastical roller-coaster of an adventure story overflowing with wit and rollicking suspense. Th... continue
Recommended: 03 Oct 2022

2.

Catching Teller Crow by Ambelin Kwaymullina, Ezekiel Kwaymullina EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
An extraordinary thriller, told from the perspective of two Aboriginal protagonists, which weaves together themes of grief, colonial history, violence, love and family. Nothing's been the same for Beth Teller since she died. Her dad, a detective, is the only one who can see and hear her, and he's drowning in grief. Only a suspected murder, and a mystery to solve, might save them both. And they have a potential witness: Isobel Catching. Aboriginal by birth, like Beth, she seems lost and isolated in the world. But as the two get closer, Isobel's strange tale of glass-eyed monsters and stolen col... continue
Recommended: 07 Mar 2022

3.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff EN

Rating: 4.5     79 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series. “Never have I read a book so wholly unique and utterly captivating.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend trilogy This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that's little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and E... continue

4.

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier EN

Rating: 4     31 Votes
Description:
Beautiful Sorcha is the courageous young woman who risked all to save her family from a wicked curse and whose love shattered generations of hate and bridged two cultures. It is from her sacrifice that Sorcha's brothers were brought home to their ancestral fortress Sevenwaters, and her life has known much joy. But not all the brothers were able to fully escape the spell that transformed them into swans, and it is left to Sorcha's daughter Liadan to help fulfill the destiny of the Sevenwaters clan. Beloved child and dutiful daughter, Liadan embarks on a journey that shows her just how hard-won ... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

5.

The Bone People by Keri Hulme EN

Rating: 4     59 Votes
Description:
Integrating both Maori myth and New Zealand reality, The Bone People became the most successful novel in New Zealand publishing history when it appeared in 1984. Set on the South Island beaches of New Zealand, a harsh environment, the novel chronicles the complicated relationships between three emotional outcasts of mixed European and Maori heritage. Kerewin Holmes is a painter and a loner, convinced that "to care for anything is to invite disaster." Her isolation is disrupted one day when a six-year-old mute boy, Simon, breaks into her house. The sole survivor of a mysterious shipwreck, Simon... continue
Recommended: 20 Apr 2022

6.

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep by H G Parry EN

Rating: 4     6 Votes
Description:
'Parry knocks it out of the park . . . Just plain wonderful' Kirkus For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob - a young lawyer with an utterly normal life - hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world, and for once, it isn't Charley's doi... continue
Recommended: 05 Jan 2022

7.

Whale Rider by Witi Ihimaera EN

Rating: 4     28 Votes
Description:
As her beloved grandfather, chief of the Maori tribe of Whangara, New Zealand, struggles to lead in difficult times and to find a male successor, young Kahu is developing a mysterious relationship with whales, particularly the ancient bull whale whose legendary rider was their ancestor.
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022


Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map