Historical fiction genre books (20)


1.

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery EN

Rating: 4.1     14 Votes
Description:
Presents an abridged version of the tale of Anne, an eleven-year-old orphan, who comes to live on a Prince Edward Island farm and proceeds to make an indelible impression on everyone around her.
Recommended: 03 May 2020

2.

Annie John by Jamaica Kincaid EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Description:
The classic coming-of-age story of a precocious young girl's deteriorating relationship with her mother, as she enters adolescence and leaves her childhood behind on the idyllic island of Antigua.

3.

Beka Lamb : by Zee Edgell EN

Rating: 3     4 Votes
Description:
Subtle yet rich descriptions of culture, society, and family life in Belize adorn Zee Edgell’s beautifully narrated story of a short time in the life of 14-year-old Beka Lamb. Through flashbacks, points on politics and independence are animated, since the political struggles for independence in Belize reflect Beka’s own developing maturity and need to assert herself. Two main features of this heartwarming story are Beka’s penchant for lying and her relationship with her older friend Troycie, whose troubling choices lead her down a self-destructive path. The pride of winning an essay contest at... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

4.

Betty by Tiffany McDaniel EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote

5.

Breath, Eyes, Memory by Edwidge Danticat EN

Rating: 4.5     3 Votes
Description:
An unforgettable novel that shimmers with the wonder and terror of its author's native Haiti. Set in the island's impoverished villages and in New York's Haitian community, this is the story of Sophie Caco, who was conceived in an act of violence, abandoned by her mother and then summoned to America. In New York, Sophie discovers that Haiti imposes harsh rules on its own. Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.

6.

Crossing the River by Caryl Phillips EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
A Booker shortlisted novel by one of the finest writers of his generation. A voice speaking out of a distant past, describes the consequences of his desperation- his daughter and two sons are condemned to the hold of an English slave ship bound for America in 1753. Here are the stories of these children- Nash, Martha, and Travis. Yet as the narrative unfolds, we come to understand that although they are his children, they are also all of slavery's children. Nash, returning to Africa in the 1830's a Christian-educated adult, a missionary to the new territory of Liberia, slowly becoming a part o... continue
Recommended: 30 Oct 2022

7.

Greenwood by Michael Christie EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
A dazzling, immersive generational saga that charts a family's rise and fall, its secrets and inherited crimes, and conflicted relationship with the source of its fortune--trees--from one of Canada's most acclaimed novelists. It's 2034 and Jake Greenwood is a storyteller and a liar, an overqualified tour guide babysitting ultra-rich vacationers in one of the world's last remaining forests. It's 2008 and Liam Greenwood is a carpenter, fallen from a ladder and sprawled on his broken back, calling out from the concrete floor of an empty mansion. It's 1974 and Willow Greenwood is out of jail, free... continue
Recommended: 15 Nov 2022

8.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House : A Novel by Cherie Jones EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A debut novel in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, from a brilliant Caribbean writer, set in Barbados, about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise." In Baxter Beach, Barbados, moneyed ex-pats clash with the locals who often end up serving them: braiding their hair, minding their children, and selling them drugs. Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the Baxter Beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was m... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

9.

Miguel Street by Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul EN

Rating: 3.5     15 Votes
Description:
A stranger could drive through Miguel Street and just say 'Slum!' because he could see no more. But to it's residents this derelict corner of Trinidad's capital is a complete world, where everybody is quite different from everybody else...Set during World War II and narrated by an unnamed - but precociously observant - neighbourhood boy, Miguel Street is a work of mercurial mood shifts, by turns sweetly melancholy and anarchically funny. It overflows with life on every page.

10.

Senselessness by Horacio Castellanos Moya EN

Rating: 4     12 Votes
Description:
A Rainmaker Translation Grant Winner from the Black Mountain Institute: Senselessness, acclaimed Salvadoran author Horacio Castallanos Moya's astounding debut in English, explores horror with hilarity and electrifying panache. A boozing, sex-obsessed writer finds himself employed by the Catholic Church (an institution he loathes) to proofread a 1,100 page report on the army's massacre and torture of thousands of indigenous villagers a decade earlier, including the testimonies of the survivors. The writer's job is to tidy it up: he rants, "that was what my work was all about, cleaning up and gi... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022


Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map