Mystery genre books (13)


1.

Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco EN

Rating: 3     10 Votes
Country: Asia / Philippines flag Philippines
Description:
‘A dazzling and virtuosic adventure’ Joseph O’Connor, author of Star of the Sea Internationally Bestselling Winner of the Man Asian Literary Prize 2008 ‘With Ilustrado, Miguel Syjuco obliges us to remake the canons of our great classics of contemporary literature. Ilustrado is, literally, a masterpiece’ Alberto Manguel It begins with a body. One anonymous winter day, the corpse of Crispin Salvador is pulled from the Hudson River. Gone is the controversial giant of Asian literature. And missing is the only manuscript of his final book, an exposé of the corrupt roots of the ruling Filipino famil... continue
Recommended: 02 Mar 2022

2.

Leave the World Behind : A Novel by Rumaan Alam EN

Rating: 3.5     48 Votes
Country: Asia / Bangladesh flag Bangladesh
Description:
"A ... novel about two families--strangers to each other--who are forced together on a long weekend gone terribly wrong"--

3.

Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun EN

Rating: 4.2     5 Votes
Country: Asia / South Korea flag South Korea
Description:
Focusing on the unsolved murder of teenage girl, this literary novel offers insights into gender, class and privilege in Seoul, and marks the English-language debut for award-winning Korean author, Kwon Yeo-sun.
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

4.

My Annihilation by Fuminori Nakamura EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
What transforms a person into a killer? Can it be something as small as a suggestion? Turn this page, and you may forfeit your entire life. With My Annihilation, Fuminori Nakamura, master of literary noir, has constructed a puzzle box of a narrative in the form of a confessional diary that implicates its reader in a heinous crime. Delving relentlessly into the darkest corners of human consciousness, My Annihilation interrogates the unspeakable thoughts all humans share that can be monstrous when brought to life, revealing with disturbing honesty the psychological motives of a killer.
Recommended: 14 Sep 2022

5.

My Sweet Girl by Amanda Jayatissa EN

Rating: 3.3     3 Votes
Country: Asia / Sri Lanka flag Sri Lanka
Description:
'My Sweet Girl is like nothing else I've read. Set in San Francisco and Sri Lanka, this is a story about friendship, lies, and guilt. A stunning and original must-read' Samantha Downing, Sunday Times bestselling author of My Lovely Wife A girl in a new country. A dark secret left behind. A dead body which might tell all. Ever since she was adopted from an orphanage in Sri Lanka, Paloma has led a privileged Californian life: the best schools, a generous allowance and parents so perfect that Paloma fears she'll never live up to them. Now at thirty, Paloma has managed to disappoint her parents so... continue
Recommended: 26 Oct 2022

6.

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay EN

Rating: 4.5     8 Votes
Country: Asia / Philippines flag Philippines
Description:
A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST "Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing." --Laurie Halse Anderson, author of SHOUT "A singular voice in the world of literature." --Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall. But when he discovers that his Filipino cousin Jun was murdered as part of Presi... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

7.

Smaller and Smaller Circles by F.H. Batacan EN

Rating: 3.5     6 Votes
Country: Asia / Philippines flag Philippines
Description:
This harrowing mystery, winner of the Philippine National Book Award, follows two Catholic priests on the hunt through Manila for a brutal serial killer Payatas, a 50-acre dump northeast of Manila’s Quezon City, is home to thousands of people who live off of what they can scavenge there. It is one of the poorest neighborhoods in a city whose law enforcement is already stretched thin, devoid of forensic resources and rife with corruption. So when the eviscerated bodies of preteen boys begin to appear in the dump heaps, there is no one to seek justice on their behalf. In the rainy summer of 1997... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

8.

The Decagon House Murders by Yukito Ayatsuji EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
"Ayatsuji's brilliant and richly atmospheric puzzle will appeal to fans of golden age whodunits... Every word counts, leading up to a jaw-dropping but logical reveal" — Publishers Weekly A hugely enjoyable, page-turning murder mystery sure to appeal to fans of Elly Griffiths, Anthony Horowitz, and Agatha Christie, with one of the best and most-satisfying conclusions you'll ever read. A classic in Japan, available in English for the first time. From The New York Times Book Review: "Read Yukito Ayatsuji’s landmark mystery, The Decagon House Murders, and discover a real depth of feeling beneath t... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

9.

The Fisherman King by Kathrina Mohd Daud EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Brunei flag Brunei
Description:
[Finalist for the 2020 Epigram Books Fiction Prize] Eight years ago, Lisan the fisherman, who has always believed he was descended from royalty, left his wife and the Water Village. Now he’s back, and he says he can prove it. Six hundred years ago, a forbidden relationship between the royal children of Brunei set into motion a chain of events that will end with the death of a king...or the death of a god. As the story of Lisan’s true intentions – and what he was really doing in those years away – unravels, the story of those doomed royal children also spins to its inevitable conclusion.... continue
Recommended: 12 Aug 2022

10.

The Quiet Ones by Glenn Diaz EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Philippines flag Philippines
Description:
During a regular shift at the call center, Alvin Estrada discovers a way to embezzle money from the American telecom giant for which he mans the phones. Soon a couple of friends join in, and the operation proceeds smoothly up until they quit, vowing to take the secret to their graves. A month later, a phone call at 4 in the morning tells Alvin that the police are on their way. At once a workplace novel and a meditation on history and globalization, The Quiet Ones is a grimly humorous take on a soul-sapping, multi-billion-dollar industry. In interlocking narratives, it explores lives rendered m... continue
Recommended: 19 Sep 2022


Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map