Popular North American Comic Books

Find comic books written by authors from North America for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge. (7)

1.

Freshman Year (A Graphic Novel) by Sarah Mai EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A stylish graphic novel about the unique angst, humor, and self-doubt that comes with going away to college—perfect for fans of Heartstopper. Everyone gets a fresh start. Who do you want to be? Sarah is leaving suburban Wisconsin for college n Minnesota. She has high hopes for the future: impress her professors, meet interesting new people, stay close to her best friends and boyfriend back home, flourish as an artist, and shed her lingering high school anxieties. What seems manageable at first quickly unravels into a tailspin and she is overwhelmed by the freedom, the isolation, and all the po... continue

2.

House of Whispers Vol. 1: The Power Divided (The Sandman Universe) by Nalo Hopkinson, Neil Gaiman EN

0 Ratings
Description:
One of four books expanding Neil Gaiman's acclaimed Sandman Universe. Welcome to the House of Dahomey, the houseboat of Erzulie Fréda, where the souls of Voodoo followers go when they sleep but even the fearsome Erzulie is powerless when her dream river turns sour, tossing her house from one realm and into another.. the Dreaming! From her bayou, Erzulie scries upon the mortal realm and sees four human girls open a mysterious and magical journal filled with whispers and rumors that, if they spread, could cause a pandemic unlike any the Earth has seen, with the power to release Shakpana, the loa... continue

3.

The Ticket by Heather Grace Stewart EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
"Hilarious!" " Simply amazing." "A beautiful story." "I didn't want it to end!" A fictional tale inspired by "the most viral human interest story on record," which had over 4 billion traditional media impressions, according to PR experts in late 2015. Fasten your seat belts for a journey filled with humor and adventure. Bachelor & newscaster Pete McCarney buys two plane tickets for a trip around the world with his girlfriend, but they split up shortly before the trip, and he can't get a refund. In a gutsy last minute move, Pete goes on social media asking for women with his girlfriend's exact ... continue

4.

This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A 2015 Caldecott Honor Book A 2015 Michael L. Printz Honor Book Every summer, Rose goes with her mom and dad to a lake house in Awago Beach. It's their getaway, their refuge. Rosie's friend Windy is always there, too, like the little sister she never had. But this summer is different. Rose's mom and dad won't stop fighting, and when Rose and Windy seek a distraction from the drama, they find themselves with a whole new set of problems. One of the local teens - just a couple of years older than Rose and Windy - is caught up in something bad... Something life threatening. It's a summer of secret... continue

5.

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
'It came from the woods. Most strange things do.'Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there...

6.

Tonoharu: Part One SC by Lars Martinson EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Daniel Wells begins a new life as an assistant junior high school teacher in the rural Japanese village of Tonoharu. Isolated from those around him by cultural and language barriers, he leads a monastic existence, peppered only by his inept pursuit of the company of a fellow American who lives a couple towns over. But contrary to appearances, Dan isn't the only foreigner to call Tonoharu home. Across town, a group of wealthy European eccentrics are boarding in a one-time Buddhist temple, for reasons that remain obscure to their gossiping neighbors.

7.

Wonderstruck : A Novel in Words and Pictures by Brian Selznick EN

Rating: 4.5 (8 votes)
Description:
Having lost his mother and his hearing in a short time, twelve-year-old Ben leaves his Minnesota home in 1977 to seek the father he never knew in New York City, and meets there Rose, who is also longing for something missing from her life. Ben's story is told in words; Rose's in pictures.