Popular North American Crime Books

Find crime books written by authors from North America for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge. (30)

1.

A Brief History of Seven Killings : WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2015 by Marlon James EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
JAMAICA, 1976 Seven gunmen storm Bob Marley’s house, machine guns blazing. The reggae superstar survives, but the gunmen are never caught. From the acclaimed author of The Book of Night Women comes a dazzling display of masterful storytelling exploring this near-mythic event. Spanning three decades and crossing continents, A Brief History of Seven Killings chronicles the lives of a host of unforgettable characters – slum kids, one-night stands, drug lords, girlfriends, gunmen, journalists, and even the CIA. Gripping and inventive, ambitious and mesmerising, A Brief History of Seven Killings is... continue

2.

A Perfect Grave by Rick Mofina EN

0 Ratings
Description:
When Sister Anne McGrath, a much-loved community saint, is brutally murdered, Seattle Mirror reporter Jason Wade, who has a personal interest in the case, joins the investigation and makes a shocking discovery about Sister Anne's past that changes everything. Original.

3.

Der Outsider by Stephen King DE

0 Ratings
Description:
Im Stadtpark von Flint City wird die geschändete Leiche eines elfjährigen Jungen gefunden. Augenzeugenberichte und Tatortspuren deuten unmissverständlich auf einen unbescholtenen Bürger: Terry Maitland, ein allseits beliebter Englischlehrer, zudem Coach der Jugendbaseballmannschaft, verheiratet, zwei kleine Töchter. Detective Ralph Anderson, dessen Sohn von Maitland trainiert wurde, ordnet eine sofortige Festnahme an, die in aller Öffentlichkeit stattfindet. Der Verdächtige kann zwar ein Alibi vorweisen, aber Anderson und der Staatsanwalt verfügen nach d... continue


5.

Don't believe it by Charlie Donlea EN

Rating: 4.5 (1 vote)
Description:
From the acclaimed author of Twenty Years Later comes a twisting, impossible-to-put-down novel of suspense in which a filmmaker helps clear a woman convicted of murder—only to find she may be a puppet in a sinister game. Fans of Freida McFadden and Alice Feeney will be left breathless by this unforgettable thriller that builds to a shocking conclusion... The Girl of Sugar Beach is the most watched documentary in television history—a riveting, true-life mystery that unfolds over twelve weeks and centers on a fascinating question: Did Grace Sebold murder her boyfriend, Julian, while on a Spring ... continue

6.

Don’t Know Tough by Eli Cranor EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
WINNER OF THE EDGAR AWARD WINNER OF THE PETER LOVESEY FIRST CRIME NOVEL CONTEST Friday Night Lights gone dark with Southern Gothic; Eli Cranor delivers a powerful noir that will appeal to fans of Wiley Cash and Megan Abbott. In Denton, Arkansas, the fate of the high school football team rests on the shoulders of Billy Lowe, a volatile but talented running back. Billy comes from an extremely troubled home: a trailer park where he is terrorized by his mother’s abusive boyfriend. Billy takes out his anger on the field, but when his savagery crosses a line, he faces suspension. Without Billy Lowe,... continue

7.

Faithful Place by Tana French EN

0 Ratings
Description:
'Breathtaking -- an elaborately twisted ballad of class resentments, family burdens, regret and passion' The Washington Post 'An author of exceptional talent and insight' Sunday Independent 'In all your life, only a few moments matter. I was lucky. I got to see one of mine face to face, and recognise it for what it was.' The course of Frank Mackey's life is set by one defining moment when he was nineteen. The time his girlfriend, Rosie Daly, failed to turn up for their rendezvous in Faithful Place, failed to run away with him to London as planned. Frank never heard from, or of, her again. Twen... continue

8.

Fiesta en la madriguera by Juan Pablo Villalobos ES

0 Ratings
Description:
A Tochtli le gustan los sombreros, los diccionarios, los samuráis, las guillotinas y los franceses. Pero Tochtli es un niño y ahora lo que quiere es un nuevo animal para su zoológico privado: un hipopótamo enano de Liberia. Su padre, Yolcaut, un narcotraficante en la cúspide del poder, está dispuesto a cumplir todos sus caprichos. No importa que se trate de un animal exótico en peligro de extinción. Porque Yolcaut siempre puede. Tochtli vive en un palacio. Una madriguera recubierta de oro en la que convive con trece o quizá catorce... continue

9.

Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
Horrified when she spots her husband--who was reported dead weeks earlier--playing with their toddler on her nanny cam, former special ops pilot Maya confronts deep secrets and deceit in her own past in order to discern the truth.

10.

Golden Child : A Novel by Claire Adam EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
"Published in Great Britain by Faber and Faber UK"--Title page verso.