Popular Oceanian Historical Fiction Books

Find historical fiction books written by authors from Oceania for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge. (20)

1.

Cloudstreet by Tim Winton EN

Rating: 4     4 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
From award-winning author Tim Winton comes an epic novel that regularly tops the list of best-loved novels in Australia. After two separate catastrophes, two very different families leave the country for the bright lights of Perth. The Lambs are industrious, united, and--until God seems to turn His back on their boy Fish--religious. The Pickleses are gamblers, boozers, fractious, and unlikely landlords. Change, hardship, and the war force them to swallow their dignity and share a great, breathing, shuddering house called Cloudstreet. Over the next twenty years, they struggle and strive, laugh ... continue

2.

Cocaine Blues by Kerry Greenwood EN

Rating: 3     2 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
From the author of the bestselling Phryne Fisher Series comes Cocaine Blues, the first historical mystery featuring the sensual, posh, and intrepid murder detective Phryne Fisher... "Phryne can not get enough of adventure and the reader can not get enough of Phryne."—Deadly Pleasures Looking for a riveting historical mystery series? This book is for you: Perfect for Fans of Rhys Bowen and Dorothy Sayers Inspired the Netflix show Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, starring Essie Davis Movie Currently Streaming on Acorn TV The London season is in full fling at the end of the roaring 1920s, but the ... continue

3.

Dornenvögel by Colleen McCullough DE

Rating: 1     1 Vote
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts macht sich Paddy Cleary mit seiner vielköpfigen Familie von Irland auf, um nach Australien auszuwandern. Seine Schwester hat dort eine Farm, die Arbeit und Wohlstand verspricht. Trotz familiärer Spannungen und den Anforderungen, die das raue Land an seine Bewohner stellt, scheinen die Clearys mehr oder weniger in Frieden zu leben. Doch der Schein trügt - Paddys jüngste Tochter Meggie liebt den attraktiven Priester Ralph de Bricassart. Und als sie zur Frau heranreift, kann auch Ralph sich ihrem Zauber nicht mehr entziehen...

4.

Homecoming by Kate Morton EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
The highly anticipated new novel from the New York Times and #1 Globe and Mail bestselling author of The Clockmaker’s Daughter, a sweeping saga that begins with a shocking crime that echoes across continents and generations. Adelaide Hills, Christmas Eve, 1959 At the end of a scorching hot day, beside a creek in the grounds of a grand country house, a local man makes a terrible discovery. Police are called, and the small town of Tambilla becomes embroiled in one of the most baffling murder investigations in the history of South Australia. Many years later and thousands of miles away, Jess is a... continue

5.

Limberlost by Robbie Arnott EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
The much-anticipated third novel by award-winning Australian author Robbie Arnott, Limberlost is a story of family and land, loss and hope, fate and the unknown, and love and kindness

6.

March : A Novel by Geraldine Brooks EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize--a powerful love story set against the backdrop of the Civil War, from the author of The Secret Chord. From Louisa May Alcott's beloved classic Little Women, Geraldine Brooks has animated the character of the absent father, March, and crafted a story "filled with the ache of love and marriage and with the power of war upon the mind and heart of one unforgettable man" (Sue Monk Kidd). With "pitch-perfect writing" (USA Today), Brooks follows March as he leaves behind his family to aid the Union cause in the Civil War. His experiences will utterly change his marriage ... continue

7.

Morgan's Run by Colleen McCullough EN

0 Ratings
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
Colleen McCullough captivated millions with her beloved worldwide bestseller The Thorn Birds. Now she takes readers to the birth of modern Australia with a breath-taking saga brimming with drama, history, and passion. It was one of the greatest human experiments ever undertaken: to populate an unknown continent with the criminals of English society. For Richard Morgan, twelve months as a prisoner on the high seas would be just the beginning in a soul-trying test to survive in a hostile new land where, against all odds, he would find a new love and a new life. From the dank cells of England's p... continue

8.

Plains of Promise by Alexis Wright EN

0 Ratings
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
In this brilliant debut novel, Alexis Wright evokes city and outback, deepening our understanding of human ambition and failure, and making the timeless heart and soul of this country pulsate on the page. Black and white cultures collide in a thousand ways as Aboriginal spirituality clashes with the complex brutality of colonisation at St Dominic's mission. With her political awareness raised by work with the city-based Aboriginal Coalition, Mary visits the old mission in the northern Gulf country, place of her mother's and grand-mother's suffering. Mary's return re-ignites community anxieties... continue

9.

Saudade by Suneeta Peres Da Costa EN

0 Ratings
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
A Goan immigrant family caught between their complicity in Portuguese rule and their own outsider status in Angola pre-independence.

10.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak EN

Rating: 4     50 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME The extraordinary, beloved novel about the ability of books to feed the soul even in the darkest of times. When Death has a story to tell, you listen. It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to rea... continue