Popular North American Horror Books

Find horror books written by authors from North America for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge. (25)

1.

At the Mountains of Madness by H.P. Lovecraft EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
Introduction by China Miéville Long acknowledged as a master of nightmarish visions, H. P. Lovecraft established the genuineness and dignity of his own pioneering fiction in 1931 with his quintessential work of supernatural horror, At the Mountains of Madness. The deliberately told and increasingly chilling recollection of an Antarctic expedition’s uncanny discoveries–and their encounter with untold menace in the ruins of a lost civilization–is a milestone of macabre literature. This exclusive new edition, presents Lovecraft’s masterpiece in fully restored form, and includes his acclaimed scho... continue

2.

Aura by Carlos Fuentes ES

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Description:
"Lees ese anuncio: una oferta de esa naturaleza no se hace todos los días. Lees y relees el aviso. Parece dirigido a ti, a nadie más": asícomienza Aura, novela hechizante, donde lo verdadero es lo imposible, donde el amor a la vez sacrifica y devuelve la vida, y la inmortalidad tiene un precio que algunos están dispuestos a pagar.Pocos textos en la literatura mexicana de imaginación tienen la belleza y la expresividad de este relato en que los procedimientos de la ficción están llevados a sus últimas consecuencias. Las imágenes del sueño alteran la realidad o la realidad se ve contaminada por ... continue

3.

Beloved by Toni Morrison EN

Rating: 4     13 Votes
Description:
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Toni Morrison’s Beloved is a spellbinding and dazzlingly innovative portrait of a woman haunted by the past. Sethe was born a slave and escaped to Ohio, but eighteen years later she is still not free. She has borne the unthinkable and not gone mad, yet she is still held captive by memories of Sweet Home, the beautiful farm where so many hideous things happened. Meanwhile Sethe’s house has long been troubled by the angry, destructive ghost of her baby, who died nameless and whose tombstone is engraved with a single word: Beloved. Sethe works at beating back the pas... continue

4.

Bunny by Mona Awad EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Description:
"Samantha Heather Mackey couldn't be more of an outsider in her small, highly selective MFA program at New England's Warren University. A scholarship student who prefers the company of her dark imagination to that of most people, she is utterly repelled by the rest of her fiction writing cohort--a clique of unbearably twee rich girls who call each other 'Bunny,' and are often found entangled in a group hug so tight they become one. But everything changes when Samantha receives an invitation to the Bunnies' fabled 'Smut Salon,' and finds herself inexplicably drawn to their front door--ditching ... continue

5.

Child of God by Cormac McCarthy EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
From the bestselling author of The Passenger and the Pulitzer Prize–winning novel The Road • In this taut, chilling story, Lester Ballard—a violent, dispossessed man falsely accused of rape—haunts the hill country of East Tennessee when he is released from jail. While telling his story, Cormac McCarthy depicts the most sordid aspects of life with dignity, humor, and characteristic lyrical brilliance. "Like the novelists he admires-Melville, Dostoyevsky, Faulkner-Cormac McCarthy has created an imaginative oeuvre greater and deeper than any single book. Such writers wrestle with the gods themsel... continue


7.

Don't Tell a Soul by Kirsten Miller EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect for fans of Truly Devious--a haunting story about a new girl in an old town filled with dark secrets . . . that might just kill her. People say the house is cursed. It preys on the weakest, and young women are its favorite victims. In Louth, they're called the Dead Girls. All Bram wanted was to disappear--from her old life, her family's past, and from the scandal that continues to haunt her. The only place left to go is Louth, the tiny town on the Hudson River where her uncle, James, has been renovating an old mansion. But James is haunte... continue

8.

Empire of Wild by Cherie Dimaline EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
"From the author of the YA-crossover hit The Marrow Thieves, a propulsive, stunning and sensuous novel inspired by the traditional Métis story of the Rogarou--a werewolf-like creature that haunts the roads and woods of Métis communities. A messed-up, grown-up, Little Red Riding Hood. Broken-hearted Joan has been searching for her husband, Victor, for almost a year--ever since he went missing on the night they had their first serious argument. One terrible, hungover morning in a Walmart parking lot in a little town near Georgian Bay, she is drawn to a revival tent where the local Métis have bee... continue

9.

Hadriana in All My Dreams by René Depestre EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Legendary Haitian author Depestre combines magic, fantasy, eroticism, and delirious humor to explore universal questions of race and sexuality.