Psychology genre books (9)


1.

Block, Delete, Move On : It's Not You, It's Them by Lalalaletmeexplain EN

0 Ratings
Description:
*One of Cosmopolitan's 2022 hot new releases* 'This book will change lives' - Tracey Cox 'Possibly the best book on relationships I have ever read' - Jess Megan _____________________________________________________________ Have you ever been on a disastrous date and vowed never to use apps again? Are you blaming yourself for the things going wrong in your love life? Do you always seem to become attached to people who treat you badly? The sad truth is that when it comes to modern dating, there are a whole host of challenges and hurdles to overcome. From ghosting and negging to gaslighting and a... continue
Recommended: 10 Jun 2022

2.
Extinction

Extinction by Thomas Bernhard EN

Rating: 3.5     4 Votes
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
LRB BOOKSHOP'S AUTHOR OF THE MONTH ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S BEST BOOKS OF 2019 WITH A NEW AFTERWORD BY GEOFF DYER 'If you haven't read Bernhard, you will not know of the most radical advance in fiction since Joyce ... My advice: dive in.' Lucy Ellmann 'I absolutely love Bernhard: he is one of the darkest and funniest writers ... A must read for everybody.' Karl Ove Knausgaard Franz-Josef Murau is the intellectual black sheep of a powerful Austrian land-owning family. He now lives in Rome in self-imposed exile, surrounded by a coterie of artistic and intellectual friends. On returning from his sis... continue
Recommended: 01 Nov 2022

3.

Happy Fat by Sofie Hagen EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Denmark flag Denmark
Description:
Comedian Sofie Hagen shares how she removed fatphobic influences from her daily life and found self-acceptance in a world where judgement and discrimination are rife. Sofie conquered a negative relationship with her body and provides practical tips for readers to do the same drawing wisdom from other Fat Liberation champions. Part-memoir, part-social commentary, this book looks at how taking up space in a culture that is desperate to reduce you can be radical, emboldening and life-changing

4.

Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad EN

Rating: 3.5     158 Votes
Country: Europe / Poland flag Poland
Description:
A republication of the great Joseph Conrad novel
Recommended: 06 Oct 2022

5.
Nives

Tell me about it by Sacha Naspini EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Italy flag Italy
Description:
Nives has recently lost her husband of fifty years. She didn't cry when she found him dead in the pig pen, she didn't cry at the funeral, but now loneliness has set in. When she decides to bring her favourite chicken inside for company, she is surprised to discover that the chicken's company is a more than adequate replacement for her dead husband.
Recommended: 06 Oct 2022

6.

The Captive Mind by Czesław Miłosz EN

Rating: 4     4 Votes
Country: Europe / Poland flag Poland
Description:
The best known prose work by the winner of the 1980 Nobel Prize for Literature examines the moral and intellectual conflicts faced by men and women living under totalitarianism of the left or right.
Recommended: 01 Nov 2022

7.

The Little Book of Hygge : Danish Secrets to Happy Living by Meik Wiking EN

Rating: 4     3 Votes
Country: Europe / Denmark flag Denmark
Description:
isbn_description
Recommended: 20 Jul 2022

8.

They Would Never Hurt a Fly : War Criminals on Trial in The Hague by Slavenka Drakulic EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Croatia flag Croatia
Description:
"Who were they? Ordinary people like you or me—or monsters?” asks internationally acclaimed author Slavenka Drakulic as she sets out to understand the people behind the horrific crimes committed during the war that tore apart Yugoslavia in the 1990s. Drawing on firsthand observations of the trials, as well as on other sources, Drakulic portrays some of the individuals accused of murder, rape, torture, ordering executions, and more during one of the most brutal conflicts in Europe in the twentieth century, including former Serbian president Slobodan Miloševic; Radislav Krstic, the first to be s... continue
Recommended: 24 Aug 2022

9.

We Had to Remove This Post by Hanna Bervoets EN

Rating: 3.4     5 Votes
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
For readers of Leila Slimani's The Perfect Nanny or Ling Ma's Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star about a group of young colleagues working as social media content monitors--reviewers of violent or illegal videos for an unnamed megacorporation--who convince themselves they're in control . . . until the violence strikes closer to home. Kayleigh needs money. That's why she takes a job as a content moderator for a social media platform whose name she isn't allowed to mention. Her job: reviewing offensive videos and pictures, rants and conspiracy theories,... continue
Recommended: 13 Nov 2022


Mastodon logo