Popular North American Young Adult Books

Find young adult books written by authors from North America for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge. (52)

31.

Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Perfect for fans of the Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper, the first book in the Jane Austen Murder Mysteries series is a clever retelling of Pride and Prejudice that reimagines the iconic settings, characters, and romances in a thrilling and high-stakes whodunit. When a scandalous murder shocks London high society, seventeen-year-old aspiring lawyer Lizzie Bennet seizes the opportunity to prove herself, despite the interference of Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy, the stern young heir to the prestigious firm Pemberley Associates. Convinced the authorities have imprisoned the wrong person, Lizzie ... continue

32.

Punching the Air by Ibi Zoboi, Yusef Salaam EN

0 Ratings
Description:
From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of the Noughts & Crosses series and The Hate U Give.

33.

Saints of the Household by Ari Tison EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Description:
Saints of the Household is a haunting contemporary YA about an act of violence in a small-town--beautifully told by a debut Indigenous Costa Rican-American writer--that will take your breath away. Max and Jay have always depended on one another for their survival. Growing up with a physically abusive father, the two Bribri American brothers have learned that the only way to protect themselves and their mother is to stick to a schedule and keep their heads down. But when they hear a classmate in trouble in the woods, instinct takes over and they intervene, breaking up a fight and beating their ... continue

34.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
#1 New York Times bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "A superlative novel . . . masterfully crafted."--The Wall Street Journal Based on "the forgotten tragedy that was six times deadlier than the Titanic."--Time Winter 1945. WWII. Four refugees. Four stories. Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies, war. As thousands desperately flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom. But not all promises can be kept . . . This paperba... continue

35.

Sam : A Novel by Allegra Goodman EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Description:
READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY • “I’ve been an Allegra Goodman fan for years, but Sam is hands down my new favorite. I loved this powerful and endearing portrait of a girl who must summon deep within herself the grit and wisdom to grow up.”—Lily King, New York Times bestselling author of Writers & Lovers What happens to a girl’s sense of joy and belonging—to her belief in herself—as she becomes a woman? This unforgettable portrait of coming-of-age offers subtle yet powerful reflections on class, parenthood, addiction, lust, and the irrepressible power of dreams. “There is ... continue

36.

So Let Them Burn by Kamilah Cole EN

0 Ratings
Description:
'Clever and utterly fresh. So Let Them Burn takes the fantasy genre and soars into brilliant new heights' Chloe Gong, author of These Violent Delights 'With fierce protagonists and compelling conflicts, So Let Them Burn is a YA fantasy to root for!' Namina Forna, author of The Gilded Ones trilogy Whip-smart and immersive, this Jamaican-inspired fantasy follows a gods-blessed heroine who's forced to choose between saving her sister or protecting her homeland-perfect for fans of Iron Widow and The Priory of the Orange Tree. Faron Vincent can channel the power of the gods. Five years ago, she use... continue

37.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A feisty young boy fakes his own death to escape his abusive father and heads off down the Mississippi River with his newfound friend Jim, a runaway slave.

38.

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
Jude, seventeen and mortal, gets tangled in palace intrigues while trying to win a place in the treacherous High Court of Faerie, where she and her sisters have lived for a decade.

39.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh EN

Rating: 4 (4 votes)
Description:
A girl travels to the Spirit World to break a curse that threatens the lives of her people in this feminist YA retelling of the popular Korean legend "The Tale of Shim Cheong."

40.

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros EN

Rating: 3.5 (12 votes)
Description:
A collection of essays exploring various aspects of Sandra Cisneros' novel "The House on Mango Street."