Recommended English books

(3635 search results)
The Read Around The World Challenge is a global challenge. Anyone can join the challenge from anywhere in the world in any language they want. This is the list of all English books added by participants of this reading challenge.

21.

A Beginner's Guide to Acting English by Shappi Khorsandi EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Iran flag Iran
Description:
"A family. On the run. In a foreign country-- England"--Cover.

22.

A Bend in the River by Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Widely hailed as the Nobel Prize-winning author’s greatest work, this novel takes us into the life of a young Indian man who moves to an isolated town at the bend of a great river in a newly independent African nation. • "Brilliant." —The New York Times In this haunting masterpiece of postcolonial literature, short-listed for the Booker Prize in 1979, Naipaul gives us a convincing and disturbing vision of a place caught between the dangerously alluring modern world and its own tenacious past. Salim is doubly an outsider in his new home—an unnamed country that resembles the Congo—by virtue of h... continue

23.

A Bigger Picture : My Fight to Bring a New African Voice to the Climate Crisis by Vanessa Nakate EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Africa / Uganda flag Uganda
Description:
Leading climate justice activist Vanessa Nakate brings her fierce and fearless spirit to the biggest issue of our time. Nakate's mere presence has revealed rampant inequalities within the climate justice movement. While attending the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, Nakate's image was cropped out of a photo by the Associated Press. The photo featured the four other activists, who were all white. It highlighted the call Nakate has been making all along: for both environmental and social justice on behalf of those who have been omitted from the climate discussion and who are now deman... continue
Genre

24.

A Blood Condition by Kayo Chingonyi EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Zambia flag Zambia
Description:
A Blood Condition tells a story of inheritance - the people, places, cultures and memories that form us. Kayo Chingonyi explores how distance and time, nations and a century's history, can collapse within a body; our past continuous in our present. From London, Leeds, and The North East to the banks of the Zambezi river, these poems consider change and permanence, grief and joy, the painful ongoing process of letting go, with remarkable music and clarity.

25.

A Bookshop in Algiers by Kaouther Adimi EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Country: Africa / Algeria flag Algeria
Description:
In 1936, a young dreamer named Edmond Charlot opened a modest bookshop in Algiers. Once the heart of Algerian cultural life, where Camus launched his first book and the Free French printed propaganda during the war, Charlot's beloved bookshop has been closed for decades, living on as a government lending library. Now it is to be shuttered forever. But as a young man named Ryad empties it of its books, he begins to understand that a bookshop can be much more than just a shop that sells books. A Bookshop in Algiers charts the changing fortunes of Charlot's bookshop through the polit... continue

26.

A Bridge Too Far by Cornelius Ryan EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
War historian Cornelius Ryan chronicles in detailed, readable prose the battle of Arnhem, one of the most important -- and bloodiest -- campaigns in World War II.

27.

A Brief History of Seven Killings : WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2015 by Marlon James EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
JAMAICA, 1976 Seven gunmen storm Bob Marley’s house, machine guns blazing. The reggae superstar survives, but the gunmen are never caught. From the acclaimed author of The Book of Night Women comes a dazzling display of masterful storytelling exploring this near-mythic event. Spanning three decades and crossing continents, A Brief History of Seven Killings chronicles the lives of a host of unforgettable characters – slum kids, one-night stands, drug lords, girlfriends, gunmen, journalists, and even the CIA. Gripping and inventive, ambitious and mesmerising, A Brief History of Seven Killings is... continue
Genre

28.

A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Description:
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A landmark volume in science writing by one of the great minds of our time, Stephen Hawking’s book explores such profound questions as: How did the universe begin—and what made its start possible? Does time always flow forward? Is the universe unending—or are there boundaries? Are there other dimensions in space? What will happen when it all ends? Told in language we all can understand, A Brief History of Time plunges into the exotic realms of black holes and quarks, of antimatter and “arrows of time,” of the big bang and a bigger God—where the possibilities are wo... continue

29.

A Burning by Megha Majumdar EN

Rating: 1 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. This is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe. They seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies. One is Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train bec... continue

30.

A Castle in the Clouds by Kerstin Gier EN

Rating: 4 (4 votes)
Country: Europe / Germany flag Germany
Description:
Witty and charming, New York Times bestselling author Kerstin Gier's contemporary young adult novel A Castle in the Clouds follows a girl as she navigates secrets, romance, and danger in an aging grand hotel. Way up in the Swiss mountains, there's an old grand hotel steeped in tradition and faded splendor. Once a year, when the famous New Year's Eve Ball takes place and guests from all over the world arrive, excitement returns to the vast hallways. Sophie, who works at the hotel as an intern, is busy making sure that everything goes according to plan. But unexpected problems keep arising, and ... continue
Genre


BOOKS BY LANGUAGE