Books set in Canada (66)


Find more books set in Canada by genre:
1.

Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
Intrigued by contemporary reports of a sensational murder trial in 1843 Canada, Atwood has drawn a compelling portrait of what might have been.

2.

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Miram Toews's All My Puny Sorrows - Sunday Times Top Choice Summer Read Elf and Yoli are two smart, loving sisters. Elf is a world-renowned pianist, glamorous, wealthy, happily married: she wants to die. Yoli is divorced, broke, sleeping with the wrong men: she desperately wants to keep her older sister alive. When Elf's latest suicide attempt leaves her hospitalised weeks before her highly anticipated world tour, Yoli is forced to confront the impossible question of whether it is better to let a loved one go. Miriam Toews's All My Puny Sorrows, at once tender and unquiet, offers a profound re... continue

3.

Amistad de juventud by Alice Munro ES

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
A collection of ten short stories deals with such subjects as a woman haunted by dreams of her dead mother; an adulterous couple; and a widow discovering unpleasant truths about her husband's past.

4.

Bad Cree : A Novel by Jessica Johns EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
In this gripping, horror-laced debut, a young Cree woman’s dreams lead her on a perilous journey of self-discovery that ultimately forces her to confront the toll of a legacy of violence on her family, her community and the land they call home. When Mackenzie wakes up with a severed crow's head in her hands, she panics. Only moments earlier she had been fending off masses of birds in a snow-covered forest. In bed, when she blinks, the head disappears. Night after night, Mackenzie’s dreams return her to a memory from before her sister Sabrina’s untimely death: a weekend at the family’s lakefron... continue

5.

Beauty Tips from Moose Jaw : Travels in Search of Canada by Will Ferguson EN

0 Ratings
Description:
The follow-up to the back-to-back successes of How to Be a Canadian (over 110,000 copies sold) and Happiness™ (Winner of the Leacock Medal for Humour). Will Ferguson spent a three-year period criss-crossing Canada and back again. In a helicopter above the barrenlands of the sub-Arctic, in a canoe with his four-year-old son, aboard seaplanes and along the Underground Railroad, Will’s travels have taken him from Cape Spear on the coast of Newfoundland to the sun-dappled streets of Olde Victoria. In his last book, Will told us how to be Canadian; now in this book, he will tell us what it means to... continue


7.

Bunny by Mona Awad EN

Rating: 4 (5 votes)
Description:
"Samantha Heather Mackey couldn't be more of an outsider in her small, highly selective MFA program at New England's Warren University. A scholarship student who prefers the company of her dark imagination to that of most people, she is utterly repelled by the rest of her fiction writing cohort--a clique of unbearably twee rich girls who call each other 'Bunny,' and are often found entangled in a group hug so tight they become one. But everything changes when Samantha receives an invitation to the Bunnies' fabled 'Smut Salon,' and finds herself inexplicably drawn to their front door--ditching ... continue

8.

Butter Honey Pig Bread : A Novel by Francesca Ekwuyasi EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Africa / Nigeria flag Nigeria
Description:
Finalist, Lambda Literary Award, Governor General's Literary Award, and Amazon Canada First Novel Award; Longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize Spanning three continents, Butter Honey Pig Bread tells the interconnected stories of three Nigerian women: Kambirinachi and her twin daughters, Kehinde and Taiye. Kambirinachi believes that she is an Ogbanje, or an Abiku, a non-human spirit that plagues a family with misfortune by being born and then dying in childhood to cause a human mother misery. She has made the unnatural choice of staying alive to love her human family but lives in fear of t... continue

9.

Camp Zero : A Novel by Michelle Min Sterling EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Description:
"In a near-future northern settlement, the fate of a young woman intertwines with those of a college professor and a collective of women soldiers in this mesmerizing and transportive novel in the vein of Station Eleven and The Power. In the far north of Canada, a team led by a visionary American architect is building a project called Camp Zero. With its fresh, clean air and cold climate, it's intended to be the beginning of a new community and a new way of life. A brilliant and determined young woman employed as a sex worker to the elite is offered a chance to join the Blooms, a group meant to... continue

10.

Can You Hear the Nightbird Call? by Anita Rau Badami EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
LONGLIST 2008 - IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Anita Rau Badami's acclaimed novel Can You Hear the Nightbird Call? chronicles the stories of three women, linked in love and tragedy, over a span of fifty years, sweeping from the partition of India and Pakistan in 1947 to the explosion of Air India flight 182 off the coast of Ireland in 1985. Alive with Badami's warmth and humanity, and brimming with the daily sights and sounds of both Canada and India, this novel brilliantly conveys the tumultuous effects of the past on new immigrants, and the ways in which memory and myth, the personal and the po... continue