Books set in India (50)


Find more books set in India by genre:
1.

A Burning by Megha Majumdar EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. This is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe. They seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies. One is Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train bec... continue

2.

Bengal Nights : A Novel by Mircea Eliade EN

Rating: 5     3 Votes
Country: Europe / Romania flag Romania
Description:
A semi-autobiographical romance between a French engineer and the daughter of a Hindu family with which he stayed in India. A case of East meets West with all the joys and woes that such encounters bring. For her version of the story see her novel, It Does Not Die.

3.

Can You Hear the Nightbird Call? by Anita Rau Badami EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
LONGLIST 2008 - IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Anita Rau Badami's acclaimed novel Can You Hear the Nightbird Call? chronicles the stories of three women, linked in love and tragedy, over a span of fifty years, sweeping from the partition of India and Pakistan in 1947 to the explosion of Air India flight 182 off the coast of Ireland in 1985. Alive with Badami's warmth and humanity, and brimming with the daily sights and sounds of both Canada and India, this novel brilliantly conveys the tumultuous effects of the past on new immigrants, and the ways in which memory and myth, the personal and the po... continue

4.

Clara luz del día by Anita Desai ES

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / India flag India

5.

Cobalt Blue : A Novel by Sacina Kuṇḍalakara EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
This translation first published: New Delhi, India: Hamish Hamilton, 2013.

6.

DAURA : A Novel by ANUKRTI. UPADHYAY EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
A young District Collector is posted to one of the furthest outposts of rural Rajasthan. As he becomes more and more involved with the lives and troubles of the common people in his district, he finds himself sucked deeper and deeper into the dark heart of the desert.

7.

Die Mauern von Delhi by Uday Prakash DE

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / India flag India

8.

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
Anappara creates an endearing and highly engaging narrator to navigate us through the dark underbelly of modern India' Observer We children are not just stories. We live. Come and see. Nine-year-old Jai watches too many reality cop shows, thinks he's smarter than his friend Pari (even though she always gets top marks) and considers himself to be a better boss than Faiz (even though Faiz is the one with a job). When a boy at school goes missing, Jai decides to use the crime-solving skills he has picked up from episodes of Police Patrol to find him. With Pari and Faiz by his side, Jai ventures i... continue

9.

El dios de las pequeñas cosas by Arundhati Roy ES

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
Ésta es la historia de tres generaciones de una familia de la región de Kerala, en el sur de la India, que se desperdiga por el mundo y se reencuentra en su tierra natal. Una historia que es muchas historias. La de la niña inglesa Sophie Moll que se ahogó en un río y cuya muerte accidental marcó para siempre las vidas de quienes se vieron implicados. La de dos gemelos Estha y Rahel que vivieron veintitrés años separados. La de Ammu, la madre de los gemelos, y sus furtivos amores adúlteros. La del hermano de Ammu, marxista educado en Oxford y divorciado de una mujer inglesa. La de los abuelos, ... continue

10.

EL LEGADO DE LA PERDIDA by Kiran Desai, Eduardo Iriarte Goñi ES

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
Als een Indiaas meisje verliefd wordt op een Nepalese jongen, krijgen beiden te maken met identiteitsproblemen.