Books set in Japan (14)


1.

Breasts and Eggs by Mieko Kawakami EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
'Breathtaking' – Haruki Murakami author of Norwegian Wood A beguiling novel about three women struggling to determine their own lives in contemporary Tokyo. A New York Times 'Notable Book of the Year' and one of Elena Ferrante's 'Top 40 Books by Female Authors' On a hot summer’s day in a poor suburb of Tokyo we meet three women: thirty-year-old Natsuko, her older sister Makiko, and Makiko’s teenage daughter Midoriko. Makiko, an ageing hostess despairing the loss of her looks, has travelled to Tokyo in search of breast enhancement surgery. She's accompanied by Midoriko, who has recently stopped... continue
Genre
Recommended: 20 Apr 2022

2.

Convenience Store Woman : A Novel by Sayaka Murata EN

Rating: 3.5     64 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
The English-language debut of one of Japan’s most talented contemporary writers, selling over 650,000 copies there, Convenience Store Woman is the heartwarming and surprising story of thirty-six-year-old Tokyo resident Keiko Furukura. Keiko has never fit in, neither in her family, nor in school, but when at the age of eighteen she begins working at the Hiiromachi branch of “Smile Mart,” she finds peace and purpose in her life. In the store, unlike anywhere else, she understands the rules of social interaction—many are laid out line by line in the store’s manual—and she does her best to copy th... continue
Genre Adult
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022

3.

Earthlings by Sayaka Murata EN

Rating: 3.1     17 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
From the beloved author of cult sensation Convenience Store Woman, which has now sold more than one million copies worldwide and has been translated into thirty-three languages, comes a spellbinding and otherworldly novel about a woman who believes she is an alien Sayaka Murata's Convenience Store Woman was one of the most unusual and refreshing bestsellers of recent years, depicting the life of a thirty-six-year-old clerk in a Tokyo convenience store. Now, in Earthlings, Sayaka Murata pushes at the boundaries of our ideas of social conformity in this brilliantly imaginative, intense, and abso... continue
Recommended: 20 Nov 2022

4.

Geisha : A Life by Mineko Iwasaki EN

Rating: 3.5     27 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
A Kyoto geisha describes her initiation into an okiya at the age of four, the intricate training that made up most of her education, her successful career, and the traditions surrounding the geisha culture. Reprint.
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

5.

Men Without Women : Stories by Haruki Murakami EN

Rating: 3.8     16 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
A dazzling new collection of short stories--the first major new work of fiction from the beloved, internationally acclaimed, Haruki Murakami since his #1 best-selling Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. Across seven tales, Haruki Murakami brings his powers of observation to bear on the lives of men who, in their own ways, find themselves alone. Here are vanishing cats and smoky bars, lonely hearts and mysterious women, baseball and the Beatles, woven together to tell stories that speak to us all. Marked by the same wry humor that has defined his entire body of work, in this c... continue
Recommended: 04 Sep 2022

6.

My Annihilation by Fuminori Nakamura EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
What transforms a person into a killer? Can it be something as small as a suggestion? Turn this page, and you may forfeit your entire life. With My Annihilation, Fuminori Nakamura, master of literary noir, has constructed a puzzle box of a narrative in the form of a confessional diary that implicates its reader in a heinous crime. Delving relentlessly into the darkest corners of human consciousness, My Annihilation interrogates the unspeakable thoughts all humans share that can be monstrous when brought to life, revealing with disturbing honesty the psychological motives of a killer.
Recommended: 14 Sep 2022

7.

Scattered All Over the Earth by Yoko Tawada EN

Rating: 3.9     4 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Recommended: 13 Oct 2022

8.

Stupeur et tremblements by Amélie Nothomb FR

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Belgium flag Belgium
Recommended: 20 Nov 2022

9.

Sweet Bean Paste by Durian Sukegawa EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Recommended: 20 Nov 2022

10.

The Decagon House Murders by Yukito Ayatsuji EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
"Ayatsuji's brilliant and richly atmospheric puzzle will appeal to fans of golden age whodunits... Every word counts, leading up to a jaw-dropping but logical reveal" — Publishers Weekly A hugely enjoyable, page-turning murder mystery sure to appeal to fans of Elly Griffiths, Anthony Horowitz, and Agatha Christie, with one of the best and most-satisfying conclusions you'll ever read. A classic in Japan, available in English for the first time. From The New York Times Book Review: "Read Yukito Ayatsuji’s landmark mystery, The Decagon House Murders, and discover a real depth of feeling beneath t... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022


Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map