Books set in Syria (20)


Find more books set in Syria by genre:
1.

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow by Zoulfa Katouh EN

Rating: 5 (7 votes)
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
An epic, emotional, breathtaking story of love and loss set amid the Syrian revolution. Burning with the fires of hope and possibility, AS LONG AS THE LEMON TREES GROW will sweep you up and never let you go. _______________ SHORTLISTED FOR THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS DISCOVER BOOK OF THE YEAR 'This is an important book. Everyone should read it' - Elizabeth Laird, award-winning author of Welcome to Nowhere 'Wrenching and lyrical' - Samira Ahmed, New York Times bestselling author of Internment 'Hauntingly beautiful ... a must read' - Huda Fahmy, author of Huda F Are You _______________ Salama Kassab... continue

2.
De kaart van zout en sterren

De Kaart van Zout en Sterren by Zeyn Joukhadar NL

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
Betoverend boek voor fans van ‘De zoon van de verhalenverteller’. Hartverscheurend verhaal van een hedendaags Syrisch meisje en een middeleeuwse avonturier, beide verhalen zijn sterk en meeslepend. ‘De kaart van zout en sterren’ van Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar is een betoverend boek voor liefhebbers van ‘De zoon van de verhalenverteller’. Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar vertelt het hartverscheurende verhaal van een hedendaags Syrisch meisje en een middeleeuwse avonturier, en beide verhaallijnen zijn even sterk en meeslepend. Wanneer Nours vader overlijdt, besluit haar moeder met haar drie dochters ter... continue

3.

Death is Hard Work by Khaled Khalifa EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR TRANSLATED LITERATURE A dogged, absurd quest through the nightmare of the Syrian civil war Khaled Khalifa’s Death Is Hard Work is the new novel from the greatest chronicler of Syria’s ongoing and catastrophic civil war: a tale of three ordinary people facing down the stuff of nightmares armed with little more than simple determination. Abdel Latif, an old man from the Aleppo region, dies peacefully in a hospital bed in Damascus. His final wish, conveyed to his youngest son, Bolbol, is to be buried in the family plot in their ancestral village of Anabiya... continue

4.

Eine Hand voller Sterne by Rafik Schami DE

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
Über 2 Jahre hinweg berichtet ein 14-jähriger Syrer über sein Leben als Schüler, Handlanger und Mitstreiter einer Untergrundzeitung in Damaskus.

5.

El secreto del calígrafo by Rafik Schami ES

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
Un vibrante retrato de Damasco en los años posteriores a la independencia, cuyos protagonistas son un reputado calígrafo, una mujer de gran belleza y un joven cristiano de noble carácter. En las populosas calles de la ciudad vieja, el rumor se extiende como una marea: Nura, la joven y bella esposa del afamado calígrafo Hamid Farsi, se ha fugado de casa sin dejar rastro. De inmediato, cientos de voces especulan sobre los motivos de tal desplante. ¿Habrá sucumbido al insistente ruego del célebre donjuán Nassri Abbani, que para conquistar la única pieza que se le resiste ha acudido nada menos que... continue

6.

In Praise of Hatred by Khaled Khalifa EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
1980s Syria. Our young narrator is living a secluded life behind the veil in the vast and perfumed house of her grandparents. Her three aunts bring her up with the aid of their ever-devoted blind servant. Soon the high walls of the family home are unable to protect her from the social and political upheavals outside.

7.

No knives in the kitchens of this city by Khaled khalifa EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
In the once beautiful city of Aleppo, one family descends into ruin in this novel from one of the rising stars of Arab fiction-- New York Times Irrepressible Sawsan flirts with militias, the ruling party, and finally religion, seeking but never finding salvation. She and her siblings and mother are slowly choked in violence and decay, as their lives are plundered by a brutal regime. Set between the 1960s and 2000s, No Knives in the Kitchens of this City unravels the systems of fear and control under Assad. With eloquence and startling honesty, it speaks of the persecution of a whole society.

8.

No Land to Light On by Yara Zgheib EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Lebanon flag Lebanon
Genre
Tags: Set in Syria

9.

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga EN

Rating: 5 (3 votes)
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new... continue

10.

Sabriya : Damascus Bitter Sweet by Ulfat Idilbi EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
Sabriya portrays life in Damascus in the 1920's. Central to the story is Sabriya's journey to self-knowledge, intertwined with the rise and eclipse of national and feminist awareness during her painful life. The national revolt is crushed by superior foreign power and Sabriya's personal emancipation is stifled by the traditional values of a patriarchal society. Written from the point of view of a young girl passionately committed to the nationalist cause but unable, because of her sex, to take an active part, it seethes with the frustrated energy of the reluctant bystander and vividly expresse... continue