Read Around North America Challenge

Read at least one book by an author from each country in North America.

Register to join the "Read Around North America Challenge"

Girl reading Read Around The World Challenge book
Best books from North America (519)
61.

The High Mountains of Portugal by Yann Martel EN

Rating: 1     1 Vote
Description:
Intersecting narratives, from the seventeenth century to present, explore questions of loss and faith.

62.

Moccasin Square Gardens : Short Stories by Richard Van Camp EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
The characters of Moccasin Square Gardens inhabit Denendeh, the land of the people north of the sixtieth parallel. These stories are filled with in-laws, outlaws and common-laws. Get ready for illegal wrestling moves ("The Camel Clutch"), pinky promises, a doctored casino, extraterrestrials or "Sky People," love, lust and prayers for peace. While this is Van Camp's most hilarious short story collection, it's also haunted by the lurking presence of the Wheetago, human-devouring monsters of legend that have returned due to global warming and the greed of humanity. The stories in Moccasin Square ... continue

63.

Noopiming : The Cure for White Ladies by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
"Noopiming is Anishinaabemowin for "in the bush," and the title is a response to English Canadian settler and author Susanna Moodie's 1852 memoir Roughing It in the Bush. Set in the same place as Moodie's colonial memoir, this genre-fluid novel is offered as a cure for Moodie's racist treatment of Mississauga Nishnaabeg in her writing. The giant Sabe meditates on the gifts and challenges of their recent sobriety. Migrating geese make a case for coordinated formation as a way to get out of "one's own cycling head." Racoons turn Bougie Kwe's Zen-garden pond into their personal urban spa. This is... continue

64.

Embers : One Ojibway's Meditations by Richard Wagamese EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Description:
"Life sometimes is hard. There are challenges. There are difficulties. There is pain. As a younger man I sought to avoid them and only ever caused myself more of the same. These days I choose to face life head on--and I have become a comet. I arc across the sky of my life and the harder times are the friction that lets the worn and tired bits drop away. It's a good way to travel; eventually I will wear away all resistance until all there is left of me is light. I can live towards that end." --Richard Wagamese, Embers In this carefully curated selection of everyday reflections, Richard Wagamese... continue

65.

The Accident of Being Lost by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Description:
This Accident of Being Lost is the knife-sharp new collection of stories and songs from award-winning Nishnaabeg storyteller and writer Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. These visionary pieces build upon Simpson's powerful use of the fragment as a tool for intervention in her critically acclaimed collection Islands of Decolonial Love. Provocateur and poet, she continually rebirths a decolonized reality, one that circles in and out of time and resists dominant narratives or comfortable categorization. A crow watches over a deer addicted to road salt; Lake Ontario floods Toronto to remake the world w... continue

66.

The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline EN

Rating: 4     5 Votes
Description:
In this futuristic dystopian novel for teens, the Indigenous people of North America are on the run in a fight for survival.

67.

The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
A short, infectious, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends. Finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. When neurosurgeon Jake Baker operates, he knows he's handling more than a patient's delicate brain tissue--he's altering the seat of consciousness, the golden vault of memory. And memory, Jake knows well, can be a tricky, quicksilver thing. When growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls, a.k.a. Cataract City--a seedy but magical, sl... continue

68.

The Maid by Nita Prose EN

Rating: 4     4 Votes
Description:
POLISHED TO PERFECTION, THE HOTLY-ANTICIPATED DEBUT *The instant Sunday Times Top 5 bestseller* *The New York Times No.1 bestseller* *One of Buzzfeed's highly anticpated Booktok reads in 2022* 'Delightful' GUARDIAN 'An escapist pleasure' SUNDAY TIMES 'A true 21st century heroine' JANICE HALLETT 'A dream of a debut . . . exquisite' NETGALLEY, Books of the Month 'Smart, riveting, and deliciously refreshing ' LISA JEWELL 'An instantly gripping and delightful whodunnit' STYLIST I am your maid. I know about your secrets. Your dirty laundry. But what do you know about me? Molly the maid is all alone... continue

69.

The Glass Hotel : A novel by Emily St. John Mandel EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER • From the bestselling author of Station Eleven and Sea of Tranquility, an exhilarating novel set at the glittering intersection of two seemingly disparate events—the exposure of a massive criminal enterprise and the mysterious disappearance of a woman from a ship at sea. “The perfect novel ... Freshly mysterious.” —The Washington Post Vincent is a bartender at the Hotel Caiette, a five-star lodging on the northernmost tip of Vancouver Island. On the night she meets Jonathan Alkaitis, a hooded figure scrawls a message on the lobby's glass wall: Why don’t you swallow br... continue
Genre

70.

Probably Ruby : A Novel by Lisa Bird-Wilson EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
An Indigenous woman adopted by white parents goes in search of her identity in this unforgettable debut novel about family, race, and history. “Engaging . . . Ruby never disappoints with her big heart and outrageous sense of humor—and her resilient search for her own history.”—The New York Times Book Review “A passionate exploration of identity and belonging and a celebration of our universal desire to love and be loved.”—Imbolo Mbue, author of Behold the Dreamers This is the story of a woman in search of herself, in every sense. When we first meet Ruby, a Métis woman in her thirties, her life... continue