Read Around South America Challenge

The Alchemist
Most Popular Book
Rating: 3     4907 Votes

  • Part of the "Read Around The World Challenge"
  • Join book lovers like you from all over the world who want to read at least one book written by an author from each of the 13 countries in South America.
  • Track your reading progress on a world map which is automatically created for you
  • Leave your reading comfort zone and expand your reading horizon.
  • Make 2023 the year you:
    • will read more books,
    • discover new authors,
    • learn more about South America.
  • Register to join the " Read Around South America Challenge"

13 countries in South America means 13 books to read for this challenge
Reading progress by all challenge participants
7.3%
92.7%

Read Around South America Challenge

Read at least one book by an author from each country in South America

Register to join the "Read Around South America Challenge"

Girl reading Read Around The World Challenge book
Recommended Challenge Books (79)
1.
Älskarinnor

Älskarinnor by Elfride Jelinek ES

0 Ratings
Genre
Recommended: 10 Nov 2022

2.
Kristin Lavransdotter

Kristin Lavransdotter by Sigrid Undset ES

0 Ratings
Genre
Recommended: 10 Nov 2022

3.

Dominicana : A Novel by Angie Cruz EN

Rating: 4     16 Votes
Description:
“I have been eagerly waiting for a new book from Angie Cruz. So glad the time has come.” —Edwidge Danticat, author of Brother I’m Dying and Breath, Eyes, Memory “Gorgeous writing, gorgeous story.” —Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street “An essential read for our times.” —Cristina Garcia, author of Dreaming in Cuban Fifteen-year-old Ana Cancion never dreamed of moving to America, the way the girls she grew up with in the Dominican countryside did. But when Juan Ruiz proposes and promises to take her to New York City, she has to say yes. It doesn’t matter that he is twice her age,... continue
Genre
Recommended: 25 May 2022

4.
Aura

Aura by Carlos Fuentes ES

Rating: 2.3     4 Votes
Description:
"Lees ese anuncio: una oferta de esa naturaleza no se hace todos los días. Lees y relees el aviso. Parece dirigido a ti, a nadie más": asícomienza Aura, novela hechizante, donde lo verdadero es lo imposible, donde el amor a la vez sacrifica y devuelve la vida, y la inmortalidad tiene un precio que algunos están dispuestos a pagar.Pocos textos en la literatura mexicana de imaginación tienen la belleza y la expresividad de este relato en que los procedimientos de la ficción están llevados a sus últimas consecuencias. Las imágenes del sueño alteran la realidad o la realidad se ve contaminada por ... continue

5.
When We Were Birds

When We Were Birds by Ayanna Lloyd Banwo EN

Rating: 4.4     7 Votes
Description:
Mesmerising, mythic and timeless, the most unmissable debut novel of 2022 now out in paperback - for fans of Arundhati Roy, Toni Morrison and Monique Roffey Recommended Read for 2022 in the Observer, New Statesman, Irish Times, Buzzfeed, Good Housekeeping, The Daily Nerd, Essence and more 'BELIEVE THE HYPE' Stella, Sunday Telegraph 'A searing symphony of magic and loss, love and hope... This book just might heal you' Marlon James 'It's a knockout, and Ayanna Lloyd Banwo is a star. I want to read everything she writes' Niven Govinden Darwin is a down-on-his-luck gravedigger, newly arrived in th... continue
Recommended: 27 Oct 2022

6.

Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras EN

Rating: 4     3 Votes
Description:
In 1976, a young boy flees Buenos Aires with his opposition-supporting family, renames himself after his hero Harry Houdini, and dedicates his time in exile to mastering his role model's escape artistry.
Recommended: 05 Jan 2018

7.

The Motorcycle Diaries by Ernesto 'Che' Guevara EN

0 Ratings
Description:
The book of the popular movie STARRING GAEL GARCIA BERNAL NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The young Che Guevara's lively and highly entertaining travel diary, now a popular movie and a New York Times bestseller. This new, expanded edition features exclusive, unpublished photos taken by the 23-year-old Ernesto on his journey across a continent, and a tender preface by Aleida Guevara, offering an insightful perspective on the man and the icon. "A journey, a number of journeys. Ernesto Guevara in search of adventure, Ernesto Guevara in search of America, Ernesto Guevara in search of Che. On this ... continue
Recommended: 11 Jan 2018

8.

Fever Dream by Samanta Scweblin EN

Rating: 3.5     30 Votes
Description:
NOW A FEATURE FILM COMING SOON TO NETFLIX "Genius." —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker Finalist for the Man Booker International Prize! Experience the blazing, surreal sensation of a fever dream... A young woman named Amanda lies dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy named David sits beside her. She’s not his mother. He's not her child. Together, they tell a haunting story of broken souls, toxins, and the power and desperation of family. Fever Dream is a nightmare come to life, a ghost story for the real world, a love story and a cautionary tale. One of the freshest new voices to come out of the... continue

9.

Collected Fictions by Jorge Luis Borges EN

Rating: 4.5     31 Votes
Description:
For the first time in English, all the fiction by the writer who has been called “the greatest Spanish-language writer of our century” collected in a single volume A Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition From Jorge Luis Borges’s 1935 debut with The Universal History of Iniquity, through his immensely influential collections Ficciones and The Aleph, these enigmatic, elaborate, imaginative inventions display his talent for turning fiction on its head by playing with form and genre and toying with language. Together these incomparable works comprise the perfect one-volume compendium for all those who h... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

10.

Hopscotch by Julio Cortazar EN

Rating: 3.5     11 Votes
Description:
Julio Cortazar's crazed masterpiece, the forbearer of the Latin Boom in the 1960s - published in Vintage Classics for the first time 'Cortazar's masterpiece. This is the first great novel of Spanish America... A powerful anti-novel but, like deeply understood moments in life itself, rich with many kinds of potential meanings and intimations' Times Literary Supplement Dazed by the disappearance of his muse, Argentinian writer Horatio Oliveira wanders the bridges of Paris, the sounds of jazz and the talk of literature, life and art echoing around him. But a chance encounter with a literary idol ... continue
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022


BEST BOOKS FROM SOUTH AMERICA BY COUNTRY

Argentina · Bolivia · Brazil · Chile · Colombia · Ecuador · French Guiana · Guyana · Paraguay · Peru · Suriname · Uruguay · Venezuela

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map