Read Around South America Challenge

Read at least one book by an author from each country in South America.

Register to join the "Read Around South America Challenge"

Girl reading Read Around The World Challenge book
Best books from South America (442)
21.

The Tunnel by Ernesto Sabato EN

Rating: 2 (1 vote)
Description:
One of the great short novels of the twentieth century—in an edition marking the 100th anniversary of the author's birth. An unforgettable psychological novel of obsessive love, The Tunnel was championed by Albert Camus, Thomas Mann, and Graham Greene upon its publication in 1948 and went on to become an international bestseller. At its center is an artist named Juan Pablo Castel, who recounts from his prison cell his murder of a woman named María Iribarne. Obsessed from the moment he sees her examining one of his paintings, Castel fantasizes for months about how they might meet again. When he... continue

22.

Furia by Yamile Saied Méndez EN

Rating: 4 (4 votes)
Description:
A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Medal One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020 A Best Book of the Year: Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library “An engrossing #OwnVoices novel.” —PopSugar “This book will set your dreams on fire . . . It’s fabulous.” — Reese Witherspoon A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams... continue

23.

Purgatory: A Novel by Tomás Eloy Martínez EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Simón Cardoso had been dead for thirty years when Emilia Dupuy, his wife, found him at lunchtime in the dining room of Trudy Tuesday. So begins Purgatory, the final and perhaps most personal work of the great Latin American novelist Tomás Eloy Martínez. Emilia Dupuy's husband vanished in the 1970s, while the two were mapping an Argentine country road. All evidence seemed to confirm that he was among the thousands disappeared by the military regime. Yet Emilia never stopped believing that the disappeared man would reappear. And then he does, in New Jersey. And for Simón, no time at all has pass... continue

24.

Lobizona : A Novel by Romina Garber EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
In Lobizona, the first in the Wolves of No World series, bestselling author Romina Garber weaves together Argentine folklore and what it means to be illegal in a timely, intimate, and emotionally powerful narrative. Some people ARE illegal. Lobizonas do NOT exist. Both of these statements are false. Manuela Azul has been crammed into an existence that feels too small for her. As an undocumented immigrant who's on the run from her father's Argentine crime-family, Manu is confined to a small apartment and a small life in Miami, Florida. Until Manu's protective bubble is shattered. Her surrogate ... continue

25.

Trust by Hernan Diaz EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE 2023 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2022 ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVOURITE BOOKS OF 2022 Trust is a sweeping puzzle of a novel about power, greed, love and a search for the truth that begins in 1920s New York. Can one person change the course of history? A Wall Street tycoon takes a young woman as his wife. Together, they rise to the top in an age of excess and speculation. Now a novelist is threatening to reveal the secrets behind their marriage. Who will have the final word in their story of greed, love and betrayal? Compose... continue


27.

Kalpa Imperial : The Greatest Empire that Never was by Angélica Gorodischer EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
This is the first of Argentinean writer Angelica Gorodischer's nineteen award-winning books to be translated into English. In eleven chapters, Kalpa Imperial's multiple storytellers relate the story of a fabled nameless empire which has risen and fallen innumerable times. Fairy tales, oral histories and political commentaries are all woven tapestry-style into Kalpa Imperial: beggars become emperors, democracies become dictatorships, and history becomes legends and stories. But this is much more than a simple political allegory or fable. It is also a celebration of the power of storytelling. Go... continue

28.

Siete Cuentos by Julio Cortazar ES

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
One of the core authors of the '60s boom in Latin American fiction, Julio Cortázar made a contribution of international importance to the development of the short story as a literary form. This collection spans his writing career and includes La Noche Boca Arriba and Final del Juego (1956), Las Babas del Diablo (1959), La Isla a Mediodia (1966), Recortes de Prensa and Queremos Tanto a Glenda (1981) and Botella al Mar (1982). Of the seven stories, some are famous examples of his contribution to the genre of 'fantastic' literature, while others demonstrate his social and political concerns. Cor... continue
Genre

29.

Las cosas que perdimos en el fuego/ Things We Lost in The Fire by Mariana Enriquez ES

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
Women who set themselves on fire to protest against domestic violence, distressed teenagers, friends till death do them apart, street children, young women bored with their partners, black magic, and superstition in northern Argentina. A work that is classic and contemporary at once.

30.

Trafalgar by Angélica Gorodischer EN

0 Ratings
Description:
In the cafes and bars of Rosario, Argentina, there are sure to be many tall tales told. But none, perhaps, quite as spectacular as those recounted by Trafalgar Medrano. With a coffeepot and a pack of cigarettes to hand, he will nonchalantly tell you all about his otherworldly adventures- from studying dancing troglodytes on a mucky planet, to befriending the only chaotic man in a perfectly arranged society, to a close shave in 15th century Spain. The things Trafalgar has seen . . . Cosmopolitan, wildly imaginative and, above all else, pure fun, Angelica Gorodischer's Trafalgar is an utterly un... continue


BEST BOOKS FROM SOUTH AMERICA BY COUNTRY

Argentina · Bolivia · Brazil · Chile · Colombia · Ecuador · French Guiana · Guyana · Paraguay · Peru · Suriname · Uruguay · Venezuela